The day I almost died

Do not take a hot bath at 4:00am

THELENMAY
Story Saturday
2 min readApr 13, 2024

--

I woke up in the middle of the night due to this loud “bang”.

“My son”, is what I thought.

I got up and ran to the bathroom.

Luckily, he didn’t have locked the door, I got inside and saw him laying on the floor.

He had a seizure, I got down to him and realized he swallowed his tongue.

I saw my son dying in front of me.

I started to panic, yet I kept my coo and used all my force to rip his mouth open.

When someone has a seizure, all the muscles cramp, and in this case, my sons mouth was locked in.

He couldn’t breathe until I pulled the tongue out of his throat.

I called the ambulance, crying and thinking I would lose my son…

This is a photo of me 2 months before almost dying of withdrawal in that night.

Luckily my mother could hear me dropping on the floor after taking a hot bath at 4:00am.

I was addicted to Xanax, Alcohol, Opiates, Weed and more, more or less from age 12–19.

The withdrawal was devilish.

The amount of symptoms I had.

The amount of times I thought: “This is it, I’m losing my mind now”

The amount of times I wanted to die because it was unbearable…

Were ENDLESS.

I kept fighting, I did it for my girlfriend back then.

She was the reason I quit, she told me she was going to leave me if I don’t

This time she was serious, and she was the only thing keeping me alive.

If I would have lost her, I would have blown my brains out.

After being sober for 1 year, I broke up with her.

Today I am 2,5 years + sober, changed my life in a 180 degree turn and became the man I should always have been.

In suffering we find meaning.

With hope we endure.

I wish everyone strength.

Whatever you go through, it has meaning and it will make you stronger.

Stick to the good side of life.

Don’t fuck up your health.

Life is worth it, if you start fighting for it.

Thank you for reading.

Lenny.

--

--

THELENMAY
Story Saturday

I will be the most famous Ex Addict known to mankind. Writing all about Self Improvement and Money Making.