The Mouth Is A Double-edged Sword.

Tabitha
Story Saturday
Published in
4 min readApr 27, 2024

Saturday, April 27, 2024.

Photo by Lance Reis on Unsplash

It was just like yesterday, when Anna hopped around the school environment.

She was always filled with life and had that sweet smile. She even called me crazy one time when I didn’t attend classes because my parents were in financial crisis.

To me, she was more of the crazy one. She never frowned or acted upset at anything. One day, she looked me in the eyes and said, "Laura, the ones who smile the widest fight the fiercest demon.".

I didn’t read meaning into it because it was Anna talking. Nothing upsets Anna, and I’m fully convinced that she can never have a problem.

It came as a wave of shock when the news came to school that she had committed suicide overnight. 
I didn’t believe that. Most people derive joy from spreading rumors. Unfortunately, not this time.

I ran out of school and made it on time to the scene when they zipped up her body. I pleaded for the reopening; I wanted to see her. I needed to see her.

Photo by Isaac N. on Unsplash

They were reluctant at first but granted my request after realizing we must have been really close.

Anna’s eyes were tightly shut, almost like she was asleep. 
Her wrists were bloody, but her left hand was fisted. I pried it open, removing the paper she had folded inside of it. It was bloody too.

My time with her was up, and I watched them zip her up, wheeling her away. Her family was a crying mess. I’m sure this wasn’t suicide. It must have been someone who hated her positive spirit.

Anna has a pure heart, and suicide would be the last thing on her mind.

But boy, was I wrong!

I went to the river bank, where I would savor my alone moment, and opened up the bloody paper.

Photo by Alessio Fiorentino on Unsplash

In her clean cursive writing, she wrote:

Dear anyone reading this, although I earnestly wish this letter got to Laura.

I’ve just really had enough, and I can’t take it anymore. I just decided to smile through all my problems, thinking it would get better, but it only got worse.

At school, I was called a ruminating animal, and the teachers laughed. When I went to the mall, some boys said I was fat and could easily pass for a bouncing castle. My own mother told me that I was the worst mistake she ever made when she was frustrated.

All I did was help correct that mistake. All my life, I’ve had to deal with people calling me all sorts of names. Gradually, my self-esteem disintegrates. I wanted them to stop.

I want people to look at me and say good things like, "Oh wow, I love your skin. What skin care products do you use?"

And I will smile, my confidence renewing. Only Laura ever said anything nice to me, and if you’re reading this, Laura, I’m sorry.

You were the only friend I ever had. I couldn’t take the poison being spewed at me anymore; that’s why I had to end things.

I love you, Laura. Thank you for not murdering me slowly with your mouth.

She clearly stated that she had had enough. How long has this been going on? How long has she been smiling through it all?

The hurt she must have gone through. I saw her mother crying over what her mouth had caused. That seemed pretty hypocritical to me.

If she truly loved her daughter, the change should have started with her.

Photo by Nicole Elliott on Unsplash

Our tongues hold a power we humans can’t fully comprehend.

With our words, we have the ability to do and undo, to heal and kill, to create and destroy. It’s crucial that we remain watchful of our words, regardless of the relationship between us.

When hurtful words become too much, the affected individual may feel distant and reluctant to share their problems.

Photo by Brandi Alexandra on Unsplash

I advise people with similar experiences to seek help. No one has the right to call you names you don’t deserve. Remain strong and prove them wrong.

To everyone as a whole: You can make the world a better place simply through the words you choose to speak.

The mouth is a double-edged sword. Every word spoken has the magic of either a blessing or a curse.

Photo by Helena Lopes on Unsplash

--

--

Tabitha
Story Saturday

You are not alone, I promise. Join me for daily doses of reality, served through a blend of fiction, non-fiction, articles, blogs, and poetry.