Fiction — Society — Life lessons

The Son and the Invisible Golden Hat

A short story of affection, wealth, society, and wisdom on life and death

Sarah Cummins
Story Saturday
Published in
3 min readJun 15, 2024

--

A golden glittering hat
Image generated — Author

One day, a man called his son, gave him a worn hat, and said lovingly, “Son! After my death, put this hat on me before burying me. This is my last wish.”

His son nodded.

Many days later, during the preparations for the man’s funeral, his son brought the worn hat and placed it on his father’s head. However, the people present prevented him from doing so.

He asked, “Why?”

People said, “As per our religious ritual, you cannot put anything on the dead body after death except the shroud.”

The boy said, “What’s the big deal? This is merely an old hat, and this is my father’s last wish, which I want to fulfill.”

An old man of his religion said, “We cannot break our ritual. You’d have to bury him without his hat. That’s final.”

A grieving son at his father’s funeral
Image by freepik

The boy hit the wall with sheer frustration for not keeping his father’s last wish.

Meanwhile, a man came out of the crowd and gave a letter to the boy. It was a detailed will from his father.

It read, “My dear son, did you see? I spent my whole life making money and wealth, but after death, I could not even keep a worn hat with me. A famous poet has described death in exquisite words: When I was alive, nobody sat with me for two minutes because they were busy.”

“Today, when I am dead, everybody is sitting with me. When I was alive, nobody gave me any kind of present or gift, but today, when I have lost the sense of smell, people are showering flowers all over me.”

“When I was alive, nobody prepared a handmade dress for me, but today, when one shroud (kaftan) is enough for me, they have brought so many new and fresh shrouds for me.”

“When I was alive, nobody was ready to walk with me, even two steps, because they did not have time, but today, when my days are over in this world, people are walking with me from my home to my grave.”

“I know how beautiful death is. I was a fool to think that I was alive. So, son, you make money and wealth, but spend it for a good cause; use wealth to decorate your soul; and make the best use of your time and wealth.”

“Because the reality of life is death.”

“It’s foolish to continuously increase your wealth when one day death unexpectedly knocks on your door and all your assets remain here.” You focus more on your soul because it is permanent. Spend your wealth on the poor.”

“Don’t be a miser. Don’t be greedy. Your good deeds are your beneficial friends, but worldly things are not. Prepare for death before it comes to you. Every new day is a bonus for you. Thank God that you wake up each and every day with the sun to newer life and newer opportunities.”

“Behave well with people, be kind, and spread love. Don’t be stubborn or arrogant about anything, as everything is temporary. Our ancestors created these rituals to symbolize this idea, allowing us to view life from a variety of viewpoints. God do justice. He has given us all an equal opportunity to make the soul healthy and compassionate. Winning the hearts of people needs no money or no gold.”

“Good deeds are the golden threads you need, to knit the golden hat with the needle of a golden heart.” That’s my golden hat. Goodbye, my dear son.”

Thanks for reading.🙂

--

--

Sarah Cummins
Story Saturday

💛Spreading knowledge, joy, positivity and happiness. Let's explore stories, ideas and concepts together!💛