When the mask falls

Embrace Realities
Story Saturday
Published in
3 min readJun 22, 2024

Shri, what happened? You seem dull. Are you fine?
My friend asked this question, and I replied, “I’m fine. You’re just overthinking.”
“Is that so? But still, I feel something is wrong. Remember, I am always there for you,” she said, and then she left, saying, “Bye, take care.”

I went home, ran inside my room, closed the door, sat on the floor, and closed my eyes.
“Shri, are you really fine?” I asked myself.
I don’t like doing the same things I used to. I don’t feel like talking to people I once enjoyed speaking with.
I don’t feel happy the way I used to. I don’t enjoy events like I did before, where I would dance like mad.
I don’t feel motivated to do the work I have to do. My happiness has a short lifespan. Sometimes I feel numb, sometimes overloaded with emotions. Sometimes I think a lot. I just look at nature and think a lot. I sit and scroll on my phone for long periods.

Am I really fine?
I can feel something breaking inside. My soul questions me every second.
When my friend asked how I was feeling, I should have told her directly that I really don’t feel okay. I feel suffocated even in large spaces. I don’t talk even when people are around me. I feel breathless even when there’s plenty of oxygen. But I didn’t say anything to her, and I don’t think I will to anyone else.

I am afraid people may call me mad or depressed.

People may judge or misunderstand me.

I don’t want to sit and think more but find a solution to it.
From childhood, teachers told me to question everything. So I thought I should apply this now.
What has happened to me?

Why am I behaving like this?

How has this happened to me?

I understood something has happened to me.

Why am I behaving like this?
I am feeling this way because I have been hiding my true self from people. I have learned to act fake. I remain happy even when I don’t feel like it. I don’t show my vulnerabilities to people. I took on a lot of responsibilities of making people happy. I lost myself in helping others find their true selves.

How?
I ended up here because of my habits. My habits of scrolling for a long time, not speaking when I need to, hiding myself, not talking to myself, staying away from family, always seeking pleasure and avoiding pain.

I dug deeper to find a solution. I have to heal myself.

How to do that?

  1. By talking to myself.
  2. By telling my friends how I actually feel.
  3. By showing my true self and not hiding.
  4. By taking rest, going out, trying to enjoy
  5. By learning to experience pain and not run away from it.

I need to heal through love, self-care, and talk.
I just feel like someone has taken a heavy bag from my shoulders, which I was holding for so long. I feel a little better. I feel light, relaxed.

Photo by Wesley Tingey on Unsplash

This was my first step towards healing me and bringing the earlier me back.
Sometimes no one can find a solution to your problems, and sometimes people can find a solution.

But in my case, I knew that I had to find the solution by myself.

--

--

Embrace Realities
Story Saturday

Life is not about living in the fantasy world but building your kingdom.