I just want to give out a bit of the good that people need — @kelvinkaesa on #MisimuZangu

Story Zetu
Story Zetu
Published in
3 min readJul 30, 2016

--

“For me, believing in things often feels like a game of darts. When I do indeed believe in something, someone usually takes that thing and nooses it to the hip of a train I’ll never be able to catch.”
— Miles Hodges

Part of this is me trying to speak more of who I am and wish to say and less making poetry of everything…so that’s a spoiler alert :)
.
.
Someone recently told me that I struggle to much. That I need to be keen on where I am and not all that goes on around me.
They were right….and they should have told me that before I stepped out of campus. Before I got hooked to the design gig, before I ended up creating for a 9–5…(all you people who’ve been kind to send design projects my way…asanteni sana)
The thing with taking a jump off a cliff is usually the unsure state you are stuck in for awhile…that’s a place i let myself slip into. Stuck in the ropes I am now more often than not up working late and too long, talking less to people I should call up more often and make time to be around.
I always wanted to run the “of small boys and big cities” poetry series with everyone…already had it hyped up and planning on rolling out…till life happened.
The whole project has now become a personal thing for me…it’s a process of becoming and it’s me taking notes for the small boy in abig city in me…maybe if it works on me it will work on those who get to hear and read what comes of it.
So my poetry is becoming personal…I’m a knit sweater too short to keep warm cold sleeves…I’m 24
I want to live more outside of what I’ve grown to love and so I’ve been making intentional moves at actually getting a life.
I dont want the small boy to get lost in the big city…I’d love to keep the heart of gold above the dough.
I just want to give out a bit of the good that people need…and people need alot of that. Be the guy making efforts of tossing good vibes at a universe of unwanted endings.
You are young…live more.

I want to live right for a small boy in a big city with ambitions and dreams.
I want to let go of the moments I felt served short.
I want to love…truly, intimately. Like play with her fingers..tell her I love her at random times kinda stuff ( this G already said he is a truckload of emotions.)
I want more new beginnings and second chances
I want to call up people I can actually ask to pray with me…
I want to call up people I can actually ask to pray with me…
I want to call up people I can actually ask to pray with me…
Yes you read that thrice…try counting how many people you know that are down to do that for you…yes..I want to call up people I can actually ask to pray with me.
I want to talk about the people and more than just poetry at art events and not feel like a sell out
(I want to see more artists make a 9–5 of the good they have that can actually feed their art)
Im 24 and want to believe in things again.
I know a tonne of people counting on jumping of cliffs and that stuff is hard. It leaves you a truckload of mixed emotions and seams that easily come undone.
But it’s all part of the seasons…I’m taking a turn on mine.

I’d love to know your #MisimuZangu too.

Original Facebook Post by kelvin kaesa

--

--

Story Zetu
Story Zetu

Narratives are life. Facebook: Storyzetu l Twitter: @Storyzetu l Email: sema @ storyzetu . co . ke l Instagram: @Storyzetu l http://youtube.com/c/storyzetu