Bravery is Not the Absence of Fear

It’s doing the things that you are afraid of… like needles.

Thomas P Seager, PhD
StoryGarden

--

Frightening images of the 9/11 World Trade Center attacks circulated via magazines and newspapers (photo by Steve Ludlum, licensed via Creative Commons BY 2.0).

In 2001, after the 9/11 attacks, my 5 year old son sat at home, drawing pictures of planes flying into the Twin Towers while I phoned his 1st grade teacher to explain why I let him miss the school bus that day.

His teacher was a former Marine, and he realized that the attacks meant that several of his friends who were still in the service would be shipping overseas — perhaps in a matter of days.

He and I talked about being scared, and bravery, and what was worth doing even if it scared you.

My son could overhear my end of the conversation. He kept drawing.

Planes.

Smoke.

Fire.

The first grade class was reading a book at that time called The Gunniwolf, which was a Little Red Riding Hood parable that helps kids learn the alphabet. It was toned down from the version that we’re most familiar with. It wasn’t really scary at all.

--

--