After A Tragic Accident Left Him A Quadriplegic, Jaimen Hudson Found a Passion for Drone Photography

Storyhunter
Video Strategist
Published in
6 min readSep 30, 2019

--

Source: @jaimenhudson on Instagram

I stumbled upon Jaimen Hudson’s Instagram feed by chance and discovered the most stunning aerial photos and videos visuals of a coastline that I’ve ever laid eyes on. When I learned his backstory, I was inspired and wanted to learn more. When Jaimen was just 17 years old, he was in a motorbike accident that took away his ability to walk. In the eleven years since, he’s rehabilitated, started a family, and figured out a way to soar through the lens of a drone he controls from his wheelchair. His portraits of natural scenes in Western Australia have captivated millions of people across the world. I talked with him about how he got started, his process, and how drone photography has changed his life.

JG: You have some of the most epic drone videography I’ve ever seen. What’s your process for setting up some of these amazing shots?

JH: Thank you so much! My process really begins by being persistent. I try and roam the coastline every morning before work, in search of different wildlife. 90% of the time I don’t see anything, but it is the 10% that I do see something that makes it all worth it.

As soon as I encounter a scenario with the wildlife, we pull the van over, and I get my support worker to jump out and grab my drone. I try…

--

--