A Story About Stories — Gabriel Medina

Find Your Story

A Reflection on My First Storytelling Experience

Gabriel Medina
Storyleading

--

I’ll never forget the first time I experienced the power a story can have to move a life. I was in the 7th grade, and inspired to write a children’s story (it was not an assignment), I penned a tale entitled “The Little Leprechaun.”

The general synopsis was that in a tiny leprechaun village, one particular leprechaun did not grow into his abilities to cast spells yet, though every other leprechaun his age had already cast his/her first spell.

He was behind. He was bullied.

In a rush of emotions one day, he was suddenly able to use magic to embarrass one of his bullies. Those who witnessed the event were frightened for the very apologetic leprechaun; but rather than retaliate, his so-called bully applauded him for casting the most powerful spell ever recorded for someone his age (something to deal with the emotion behind the spell). The little leprechaun taught the tiny village a lesson — that the most powerful magic is that which comes from the heart.

I gave this story to my teacher to edit, and she told me she’d love to and would get back to me.

Later that year, during the holiday season, some peers and I who took piano classes visited the children’s ward of our local hospital to play Christmas carols. In between a couple of our pieces. My teacher paused to read the kids a story. She took a copy of “The Little Leprechaun” out of her bag and read.

I struggle with people reading my work. I especially struggle with receiving the instantaneous feedback one gets when they and/or their work is on stage. Yet, that situation was forced upon me.

And I’m glad it was.

The children and their families smiled through the entirety of the short story. Once my teacher got to the end of the story, she introduced me as the author, and it was then that the audience’s gazes were upon me. I shyly waved and bowed my head while thanking them and returned to the group of my peers so that I could hide among their numbers.

At the end of our visit, a mother approached me and thanked me again for my story. “My daughter hasn’t smiled like that in months,” she said. “Thank you for such a beautiful story.”

The Tether.

It was at that moment that I realized that a well-delivered and timely story can change a life. It can because of its ability to create a connection with a human being.

What story do you want to tell?

Is your personal life story being conveyed to recruiters? Is your business’s story connecting with your target consumers?

Your answers to those questions are crucial.

--

--