Tailors

Powering Down: Episode 3

Frank William Brennan
Storyleading
1 min readMar 8, 2018

--

I was fitted for a suit today. I was actually looking for a pair of pants that would match my gray blazer and wound up being fitted for a suit at a department store.

When it comes to suits, they are distributed in one size depending on the jacket. A 42 Regular came with custom pants that were 35 inch waistlines. They didn’t have suits a la carte at their store. So both the jacket and the pants had to be taken in if I was going to go with their suits.

When I asked if they would be able to make the size changes in such a short amount of time (I need it hemmed and returned in 24 hours) the associate brought me to an obscure place in the back of the store. There was a small hidden entrance to this location from the back of the fitting rooms. You wouldn’t know it was there unless someone showed you.

I walked through and discovered Cinderella’s dress shop led by one of the mice themselves (just a petite sweet old lady sewing clothes). She immediately saw the flaws in the suit I was trying on and started chalking the hem marks without saying a word. She measure with an old yard stick and school ruler. I asked if they could have it ready by Friday at noon. She smiled and said sweetly, 11.

Good job Gus Gus!

--

--