Wednesday Night Lights

Powering Down: Episode 2

Frank William Brennan
Storyleading
1 min readMar 7, 2018

--

I had a long drive tonight. Seven hours and still about three more to go. The drive itself is not the problem as I have some great audio books accompanying me (finally finished A Dance with Dragons). It’s the driving in the dark. I am going through areas on the Interstate with no street lights. Why do they not invest in more light? Are they afraid of light pollution? There is nothing around me except woods. It’s like the first season of True Detective out here.

Then it rains.

Of course!

They have these digital signs spread out periodically in major exits where there is plenty of light that tell you how many deaths have been on the highway this year. “Drive Safe”. And then you drive into a black abyss.

I can’t see debris, fleeing deers, stuff falling off the back of trucks, or even the lanes because they don’t even have those reflectors installed in the ground!

The good news is that I made it to a place of refuge for the night. I shall tackle the rest of the road when the sun wakes up.

--

--

Frank William Brennan
Storyleading

Speaker | Writer | Storyteller — Access your deepest potential.