Image by Quino Al

005 - Putting The Hours In

There’s a minimum volume of work required to make an impression, then suddenly….

Larry G. Maguire
Storymaker
Published in
4 min readJun 16, 2017

--

Welcome to the Editor’s Journal; A daily thought on writing, the creative process, art, work, the world and how it all goes together. Every morning I rise between 5 and 6 am, I sit here in the quiet of my kitchen and I write whatever’s prominent. I have a bunch of article ideas saved, so I’ll either pull from them or write something new. I also write at larrygmaguire.com. I hope you enjoy the read.

How long does it take to win?

Who knows.

Honestly, there’s no way to know. And what is win anyway?

I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately since I decided to leave the relative stability of employment and enter back into the self employed business world, as a writer this time.

I’m starting from scratch in many regards, but in others I’m not. Theory being that what I’ve done business wise up to now can help me build this solo thing to a sustainable level reasonably quickly.

However, I know I’ve got to be careful here not to expect things to be somewhere before they're ready. I’ve been guilty of that before.

I’ve got to be prepared to put the hours in before I see results.

It’s just how the universe works.

The Artist’s Manifesto is a short book about staying true to our art. It is a call to Artists and Creatives like you to create from the heart with passion and integrity, disregarding the need for applause and recognition. It’s available from 13th May 2017. Grab your FREE copy here.

Exponential Growth

Exponential Growth

Why would I think what I’ve decided to do for a living is any different than the peas and tomatoes growing in my kitchen window?

They have a set time to do their thing and no amount of pushing will make them grow any quicker. In fact, any effort to make them become what they will earlier than they are designed will likely do the exact opposite.

I’ve got to be prepared to put in a significant effort in obscurity before people will begin to notice what I do. In addition, I’ve got to be consistent about it.

I know that showing up every day is necessary, and in a sense, I’ve got to do that without looking up. Too much attention to the results is like digging up the seed before it sprouts.

Why Do I Forget?

I know all this already, so why do I forget?

I’ve been in this show before and I know my lines, but somehow I’ve forgotten them. It’s like some kind of mind bug.

Here’s what it is actually…I’ll be straight with you…

I was somewhat arrogant previously. I thought I should be further along than I was, that’s why things didn’t work out favourably before.

My internal dialogue was a little flawed and I expected things to materialise without me keeping my end of the bargain.

Which is…

Show up consistently and produce good quality stuff, the same narrow niche stuff every day.

A couple of stories by helped me see what was in front of my face. So thanks to him.

Onwards

So I’ve a couple of tactics to get things off the ground, the trigger on which I’m about to pull. I don’t need too much to live on so a couple writing gigs will keep the lights on.

In the meantime I’ll be here, every morning sharing insights and my own personal progress on making art, being creative and doing whatever it takes to make a few bob along the way.

Because working for other people, under their rules just doesn’t work for me long term. I’ve got to have the freedom to move and make my own decisions.

Being flexible and open to new things is important to me, vital actually.

Stay in touch,

Larry

The Artist’s Manifesto is a short book about staying true to our art. It is a call to Artists and Creatives like you to create from the heart with passion and integrity, disregarding the need for applause and recognition. It’s available from 13th May 2017. Grab your FREE copy here.

Like Some More of This Kind of Thing?

Howdy, I’m Larry, Writer & Artist. Thanks for taking the time to read my stuff. I write about art & creativity. When I’m not doing that I write short stories about the ordinary lives of people and the challenges they face. My stuff can be edgy, hard hitting, and sometimes controversial, but never contrived. If that’s your bag you can Sign-up To Sunday Letters Here.

--

--

Larry G. Maguire
Storymaker

Work Psychologist & lecturer writing on the human relationship with work | Unworking | Future of Work | Leadership | Wellbeing | Performance | larrygmaguire.com