Why Dads Are The Greatest?

Father’s day 👨‍👧

Sujani Hansamali
Storymaker
Published in
4 min readJun 17, 2020

--

As you already know, I am a poet. But today I thought to write a piece in order to salute all the wonderful fathers in the world. Let’s honor the dads. Dear readers, have you ever been tried to find a definition for the term “father”? According to dictionaries, it is cited as “ a man who has impregnated woman and had a child”. Is it enough to describe your dad? I asked few people to provide me with some definitions related to this particular term. You may wonder about the answers I got.

“ My dad is my world”

“ I am always his little daughter although I am 35 years old”

“ Dad is my hero”

“ My dad loved me unconditionally”

“ No one can beat him; I know he is always there for me”

“ I love my dad so much”

“ My dad is so strong and young though is in his mid-eighties”

Yes, he is your dad. Why are we going to celebrate a special day like this? It’s a day of honoring fatherhood or male parenting as well as the influence of dad’s in society. In America, this significant day was found by Sonora Smart Dodd. Do you know? It was first celebrated on the third Sunday of June in 1910. This special day gives you a precious opportunity to express your great affection, love, and…

--

--

Sujani Hansamali
Storymaker

Undergraduate who is enthusiastic in teaching young learners and writing literary pieces, from Sri Lanka