I’d Like to Sit in Kenny’s Old Blue Chair

How would the view change me?

Nanci Arvizu
Storymaker

--

Photo by Manfred Pecha on Unsplash

During a trip home I spent a lot of time in the car with my mother listening to her new favorite CD, Kenny Chesney’s Come As You Are.

This album has been out for a while, and it was fun to get reacquainted.

These are some awesome songs.

I’ve always loved Mr. Chesney’s music, he’s a fantastic storyteller, and he put his joyful island-country twang to good use when he broke onto the scene in the early 2000s with ‘No Shirt, No Shoes, No Problem.’

A string of hits followed a mix of country with a wisp of his beloved island sway in the background.

Over time the twang gave way to more sway.

“Oooh, this is my favorite,” my mother leans in to turn up the volume on the car stereo. There’s something sexy ‘bout the rain, his voice floats through the words, there’s an emphasis on the xy part of sexy. Yes, this is a really good song.

--

--

Nanci Arvizu
Storymaker

Intentionally, relentlessly, consistently pursue your passion. www.nanciwrites.com