International student’s experience in the USA

Mahip Rathore
Storymaker
Published in
2 min readJul 12, 2020
Photo by Nitish Meena on Unsplash

I am an international student in the USA. I pay taxes every year, I pay my tuition and an additional international student fee. I do not receive FAFSA (federal funds to support education) that is available to my classmates who are citizens. I cannot work off-campus; do that pizza delivery; drive uber in my free time or walk a dog to make some extra money. It is illegal for me to work like everyone I see around myself. If I do so, I put myself at risk of deportation. If there are 1000 jobs in my area, I am legally eligible for maybe 5 of them (on campus). I received the same training as my classmates, and I consider myself equally competent to work. But while applying for American Psychological Association (APA) accredited internships, I see that nearly half of the sites state “citizenship required”.
How do I survive or grow if the laws are formulated to make sure I am limited?
I did not receive any money under the CARES Act when the university distributed 3.6 million dollars to students to support them during the pandemic. I did receive the stimulus check issued by the government only to find out that I am not eligible and must return it. I am required to go back to my home country if I choose only online classes in Fall 2020 otherwise, I will be deported. I do not have the option to prioritize my health in the middle of corona like other students do.
I don’t feel it’s fair that my duties are same or more than others, while my rights are way less. I don’t feel its fair that I have to study and work as much as others or may be more (due to cultural and language barriers) but my opportunities to get work are way less. I don’t think it’s fair that I pay for expenses (tuition, taxes) but when it’s time to receive benefits (social security, Medicare, FAFASA etc.) or buffer money in times of crisis I am no longer eligible.
One thing that I remember from a political science class many years ago is that rights and duties go hand in hand with each other. They must be in proportion to one another. Otherwise the social contract is not fair for the parties involved. I know I am not a citizen so maybe there is no social contract between me and the US government. But does that make me any less human than my fellow students?

--

--

Mahip Rathore
Storymaker

I am a lawyer turned therapist & meditation teacher. I love journaling and expressing myself through poetry.