Monkey Business

A good day gone wrong

Imad
Storymaker

--

Photo by Maksym Ivashchenko on Unsplash

Two monkeys jumped off a tree,
And sat atop a fence overlooking a stream.

Silently they watched children playing water games,
And other tourists sunbathing by the shore.

They looked like they’d done this before.
Scanning a familiar place, deviously planning,
Looking for unknowing prey.

On comes a traveler, casually trekking,
With sunshades on as dark as night,
Music in his ears,
Oblivious to what lies in front of him.

He looked so merry,
With a smile as bright as the shining sun.

Traveler’s got in his right hand, a bunch of ripened berries,
His left is equally full, with the most sumptuous bananas.

Clearly he hadn’t read the warning signs.
It read, BEWARE OF MONKEYS. NO FOOD ALLOWED.

It also didn’t help him, that the lifeguard was nowhere to be seen.
— Gone for a smoke I suppose.
I’m guessing you can tell where this story’s going,
Keep reading though, there’s a slight twist at the end.

--

--

Imad
Storymaker

I write to understand myself and the world around me || Trying to be as human as I can be