Past Lives…

Karios
Storymaker
Published in
2 min readMar 24, 2024

What if I waited? Could I go back in time and re-live that moment? Did I just move on? Why couldn't I just say, Let’s try again? Was it worth it? Is this an experience that has become the norm? What depth of change can occur to shed old tricks or ways? Do we just cover our faces with clothes or makeup? Do our past lives or experiences ever leave us? Can the future appreciate the past?

I am in a dilemma, or confused state, of either writing how I truly feel or letting it roll over like everything else. Is fighting for something the best option? What if an item's life span is only as good as its season? We can’t be as good as those who need us. What happens when we’re not useful? Is becoming a relic such a bad thing? I don’t have the answers, but stating them might draw out solutions.

The phenomenon is called change, as we call it, and we speak about it in different forms and within forums. It takes a lot to achieve and is glorified as the best thing to occur, but what if you just need to dwell on what has been? Because you haven’t fully processed it. Change is never sudden; it is intentional and brings fresh breath, but what if the dust from old items feels the same way? A reminder of once, but it couldn’t be the next step.

Photo by Jan Huber on Unsplash

The next step is the goal — the attainment of satisfaction. Do we rest at that point, or is it just a move of the goalpost to yet another step in our growth or evolution? Where does it stop? Do we have time to reminisce about the point we’ve reached? Do we ever appreciate the journey? Is it never enough, or do we move on to the next best thing? Maybe FOMO isn’t just an internet evolution but a creation of insatiable addiction, creating beings blinded to their present and inability to enjoy it while they can. So what next? I’m guessing you’re asking already.

I would say our past has souls that need not be ignored but appreciated and nurtured; they created you now and the future that will be. I love me. I love all my quirks, failures, and not-so-many accomplishments. Past lives are where I reside for now until my future can catch up. Hurry up! I would love to meet you.

Cheers!

Just trying to make sense of it all.

Karios 2024

--

--

Karios
Storymaker

Lychnobite || Movie-Inspired || Critic || Introverted Aries || Lone Wolf || Editor:@KariosNation Writer:@applaudience @postgradsurvivr @WritingCoop TheAscentPub