Poetry: Elegy for a Body

Cultivating Body Positivity

Holly Lyn Walrath
Storymaker

--

Photo by Elizaveta Dushechkina from Pexels

Elegy for a Body

I take up ashes
like taking up space.
I am dis-embodying my body
or what I once called skin,
its remnants rounding out,
the insides of a blue funeral urn
whose curves make sense.
Inside here with me
the afreet’s ghost
nd the memory of feeling thin
like a butterfly’s wing
like water in a glass pitcher
like telephone wires
filled with energy
of the me I remember only
in the soft nail beds
and crane’s neck
and boy’s chest
of yesterday.

*This poem first appeared in Glimmerglass Girl.

--

--

Holly Lyn Walrath
Storymaker

I'm a writer, editor, publisher, and poet. I write about writing. Find me online at www.hlwalrath.com or on Twitter @HollyLynWalrath!