Presents of Paper

A Christmas gift poem

Christopher
Storymaker

--

Golden Christmas ornament in front of a glowing tree
Photograph by Christopher Madsen

My child, please share that wonder in your eyes.
Your cheerful smile is crawling around a glittering tree.
That look you give Christmas gifts daring to bring a surprise.
Then choose the prancing reindeer gift-wrapped from me.
I watch you examine the presents happy disguise.
Then scream in action to make debris.
Festive paper that is torn in haste.
To pile behind you in beauty’s waste.

The family watches as joy drains from your face.
“Thank you, Uncle, for the sweater and stickers.”
Then turn your smile for another gift to replace.
Your mother frowns as the festive Christmas withers.
“Jessie, you like your sweater,” she asks to fend off her disgrace.
“I think it’s shitty,” your toddler’s voice delivers.
I watch your mother turn to your father, wearing anger as her crown.
She whispers something under her breath to gently put him down.

I begin to laugh to break this gloom that tries to feed the room.
Then take my mug of fresh egg nog and toast your…

--

--

Christopher
Storymaker

I was made to be a blue worker from a blue collar family, but the poet in me is fighting to be free. https://www.tiktok.com/@gen.xrsize