POETRY

The Meaning of Everything

Walking along the foggy paths of seeking

Debdutta Pal
Storymaker
Published in
2 min readApr 10, 2023

--

Photo by Ricardo Oliveira from Pexels

Every time I think I’m closer,
I’m a step farther out,
The answer didn’t find me,
I grow grey and impatient.

I chose mystery instead,
There has to be some more,
To figure out some more,
Unable to put it away.

The laws of the Universe,
Texts I rapidly read,
The waves inside my head,
Cannot explain it any better.

I stay up another hour,
Pondering the meaning,
Asking the same questions,
Feeling their added weight.

The day breaks again,
Dirty dishes in the sink,
Produce on a timeline,
I think and write in cliches.

Stuck in repetitive loops,
I’m thrilled to witness a tear,
Moments of epiphany,
Validation of my pursuits.

--

--