Aren’t You Ruining Your Child’s Dreams?

You should not impose liability on the child

ANGSHUMAN BHATTACHARJEE
Storymaker
3 min readDec 15, 2020

--

Photo by Tony Tran on Unsplash

Maybe I am too young to write about such a matter but I think it is my responsibility to write some things on behalf of all of my students.

Basically, when I was younger I found such a note in one of my friend’s diary who has committed suicide because he can't fulfill his parent's want.

Since then, I have been looking for an opportunity of writing on such a delicate topic for my students and I believe this is the perfect opportunity for me.

Maybe this year 2020, I have completed my six-year journey in the “Century Coaching Center” as a computer teacher. Though I had a dramatic start, eventually I managed my path in this coaching center as a teacher.

Since then, I have the opportunity of taking the class of students of different ages or levels of different classes and maturity levels.

As a result of that, I had the opportunity of meeting with their parents and I think that this writing is the result of the experiences that I had in my teacher's life.

I think the following paragraphs will then focus on the expectations we have from our parents (I am a son too).

Why do you always avoid the bright side of us? Why do you always consider that someone is always better than me? Maybe I am not good at what you want me to do well, but maybe I am better in some other topics. Why should you always have to ignore that?

Why are you always in a comparison mode when you are talking about me with some other boys or girls? Why can’t you just ask me what I want to choose for my higher study?

You have taught me all your values since the day I came to this world, so if you believe your instincts then why can’t you just trust me for a couple more days?
I agree I am less experienced than what you have seen in the real world but can’t you just trust my instincts?

Of course, God has sent me with some special qualities, GOD is kind enough to do such things. I am also happy that HE has sent me parents like you but can you just listen to what I want to express before posing your opinion? Why do you have to oppose me all the time?

I have had many experiences where I felt that the parents were guilty of not letting their son or daughter do things they want to do.

A girl with no memorizing power but with high-speed calculation capability was forced to go to a medical program only just to fulfill her parent’s wish.

“Parents can only give good advice or put them on the right paths, but the final forming of a person’s character lies in their own hands.” –Anne Frank

When I ask my students about the subject they want to study in the future, many of them answer in a dilemma i.e. they cannot decide because this is up to their parents.

A student knows better about his capability like data processing time, memorizing time.

So deciding against the will of the student, will it necessarily bring good results?

In the end, I just request to every parent, just trust your issue. A student always wants to feel that his father or mother still trusts him, rely on him.

Please let him share his opinions. Rules are rules, but when it comes to decision making please let him or her say.

That’s all from me. Take care, everyone.

--

--

ANGSHUMAN BHATTACHARJEE
Storymaker

Coder ।। Network Analyst ।। Teacher ।। Short Story Writer ।। Traveller ।। Poetry।। Tech Writer।। Movie Critics ।।