The day when I outsmarted my teacher

Ojasvi Balotia
StoryMirror
Published in
2 min readOct 7, 2018

When I was in tenth grade, my educator gave a form of fake currency for moral behaviour, conducts, uprightness, solving questions in class, etc. The currency values ranged from 1 rupee to 25 rupees. For locus, the dispersal of the values was log-normal, as scholars would usually receive 1 rupee and 5 rupees. The “money” could be used in her session store, the store confined toys, books, and added classified items a tenth grade would resembling to have.

One casual day, some apprentice was murmuring to the alternative student. She held those students needed to be silent. When the murmurs sustained, the teacher commanded the person who was murmuring to come forward. No one replied.

Afterwards, what felt like a perpetuity, I raised up my hand and alleged I was the one murmuring. I was not, but I wanted the eerie hush to stop. She appeared mad, though, she acknowledged me for my “morality” and gave me a “super ticket” — a 20 rupee note. She alleged this was to “style an instance” to the respite of the class of what morality can get you.

Obviously, I come to comprehend that this was a prospect to make nearly “money”. Anytime an interclass behaviour subject (for the absence of a better expression) came up, I would take guilt for it, and collect 20–25 rupees for it.

Ultimately, the teacher telephoned my parents about my current “behavioural deviations”, disturbed I was not ruled in a good direction. My parents questioned me about this. I told them about the entire situation. I undertake they conferred to her about it subsequently, as I did not receive any further “money”.

In remembrance, I feel ashamed about the pleasing benefit of the system like that, as I would never do that today, within my ethical integrity. Though rationally, it appeared like a good chance and given my adulthood level at the time, I acted consequently.

--

--

Ojasvi Balotia
StoryMirror

Never argue with an idiot they’ll drag you down to their level and beat you through experience.