2023: A Year Lived, Not Just Survived

Faisal Ramdan
Straight Path
Published in
3 min readMar 6, 2024

--

Photo by Jametlene Reskp on Unsplash

Scrolling through social media, it’s easy to get caught up in everyone else’s highlight reels.

2023 for me? It was a wild rollercoaster ride, filled with both incredible highs and crushing lows.

On the surface, it was an impressive year: traveling the world, conquering a marathon, making code for building application, writing an article, and even making video on Youtube!

But behind the scenes, there was another story.

There were tears, quiet moments of grief for my career, and the constant battle against anxiety and panic attacks.

While everyone else celebrated, I was simply trying to stay afloat.

It’s easy to create a picture-perfect image, but grief is messy. It casts a shadow over everything, even the most amazing experiences.

Thinking back, I realize something: if I hadn’t lost my job, I might still be stuck in my old life, chained to a desk job and wishing I had more time to write application code.

Although I really love my job.

--

--

Faisal Ramdan
Straight Path

Hi, I'm Faisal Ramdan! Software dev on a self-improvement journey. Join for motivation, productivity tips, and a dash of tech trends. Let's grow together! 🚀