https://unsplash.com/@cbarbalis

The Image of the Key

martin.strange
Strange Poetry
Published in
1 min readJan 31, 2020

--

The image of the key, imprinted,
carved ceremoniously like an instinct,
like an infant’s first breath, a scream,
or the peeping frogs serenading the night.

There is a red door somewhere, or was it green?
The memory fades like snow in a midwinter thaw,
leaving only a puddle, and then it evaporates,
under the crystal sunlight of a goblet sky.

I dream of Amsterdam, though I’ve never been,
of Venice in Springtime when lovers ply canals.
I wrestle with Hercules in the waves of Gibraltar’s Straits,
and nightly pry the secrets Malmonides hides.

I hope for the silence that springs to life,
not the loneliness of Hell,
and at a distance I cannot measure,
I hear the morning bell.

--

--

martin.strange
Strange Poetry

Born in the peachtree wilds, passing through lands east and west, martin settled on a nutmeg plantation to live out his days contemplating the mysteries of life