A Night in Amsterdam to Remember

Bhavana Chaurasia
Strangers becoming Comrade
2 min readMar 27, 2024

It was a typical evening for most people in Amsterdam. Visitors were either planning their evening or waiting for their planned adventure. Amsterdam is notoriously famous for all kinds of activities, but some can’t be described in a broad social setting.

When everyone was planning their next adventure, I was getting up after my afternoon jet-lagged nap. I had already wasted one day of my four-day trip, and now I was desperate to make up for the lost time. My next step was to go to viator.com to figure out activities around me. Since it was nighttime, the only activity I could find was a group bar-hopping tour. It had good reviews, so I booked it.

I went to have a nice Indian meal and then headed to the venue. Little did I know it would be one of the nights to remember. While waiting outside the bar where the tour was supposed to start, I met a couple waiting for the same tour. I asked them if I was at the right place; they said yes. That’s how the conversation started.

They were visiting from Germany. The guy knew English, but the girl did not. They asked me to join them so that I would not be alone. Sometimes, you meet people who make you feel welcome. There is an instant connection, and you feel comfortable hanging out with them; fun becomes inevitable. As the night progressed, we went from bar to bar, learned about each other’s lives, and danced. We talked to other groups and danced with them, but we stayed intact as a group. The guy, like a big brother, was caring and protective towards me. He would protect me from weird folks as one can expect to meet if you hit clubs. I would have left very soon if I didn't meet them that night. But since they were with me, I could enjoy an environment where I could feel safe. Amazingly, we give words and language so much importance, but here, I became best friends with the lady even when we don't share a common language.

Eventually, when the night ended, my new buddies ensured I got a cab and safely reached my hotel.

This story reminds me of a phrase: Life is like a roller coaster; live it, be happy, and enjoy life. We know life is full of ups and downs. We can’t avoid downs, but we can use our ups fully. I encourage you to do the same.

PS: Meeting strangers is amazing, but exercising caution when interacting with them is important. Common sense and awareness go a long way.

--

--

Bhavana Chaurasia
Strangers becoming Comrade

Bhavana is a proud Cal alum, a critical thinker. She is curious to witness life from different aspects and share it with the world.