Reflection about Strategic Selling

leen alsaffarini
Strategic Selling
Published in
2 min readAug 27, 2020

Taking strategic selling was part of my plan to complete my marketing and communication certificate, I learned a lot throughout this course, I believe that marketing and sales are 2 domains complement each other, I always find sales and marketing are like peanut butter and jam, it sounds funny but if you think about it differently, they are a power-packed, both of them are great at their own but together they generate revenue and happiness to the company.

My memorable take away is still The Golden Circle, for Simon Sinek from his book “Start With Why” it is a powerful idea to inspire people how to work, lots of successful people followed the same method because they realized that people won’t truly buy into a product, service, movement, or idea until they understand the WHY behind it.

Another important take away, it was an interesting point that the instructor shared at one of our zooms meetings, “be like a sniper”, and the motivational meanings from it was to think strategically; plan your sales pitch, prepare for it, and search what they need to hear from you to secure your sales, and I think that’s a great approach where it will open new opportunities for any salesperson.

Taking a subject online in the middle of the Covid-19 pandemic wasn’t an easy decision to make, but surprisingly it was rich in information, very interactive, and decently designed to fits a summer intensive course. This course exceeds my expectation, the instructor shared modern contents that made it very interesting information source, I would suggest that if this subject is part of your certification, take it because it’s definitely a good place to learn more about sales.

I found the second assignment was very rewarding to me, I networked with new people, I learned new sales vocabularies, and I practice how to put together an article from an interview I prepared for. But on the other hand, planning for a sales presentation was challenging, I felt this assignment could be a great group pitch because it’s very rich with information and will require more research, as well as, providing creative sales solution needed more time.

Overall, understanding the stages of selling comes with great advantages that will help benefit you and your clients. Strategic selling helps you to focus on selling activities and teaches how you should prioritize good relationships with your client.

Thank you!

Leen.

--

--