Meet Technologist: Obed Gyawu

Obed Gyawu
Strategio
Published in
3 min readJan 17, 2023

Describe yourself in 3 words.

Curious — I am someone who is ready to learn new things such as skills, technologies, diversity, and also new ways of dealing with people’s opinions and suggestions during team projects.

Reliable — I like to create an environment or place where I can be trusted and depended upon. I am someone who my team members or co-workers can rely on because I am always there when they need me and always find a way to help them with any help they need which makes them trust me.

Encouraging — I like to encourage others, especially my team members or co-workers who may seem down due to work issues or if possible outside work issues. I give them support and hope by saying some encouraging words to them and making them feel better.

Why did you join Strategio’s Simulator?

When I got to the Strategio site during my job search, I discovered that Strategio is a company that builds a community of technologists for their enterprise organization and helps their enterprise give the necessary service to their customers or clients. I also like how they give a chance to anyone from different backgrounds or cultures known as diversity. As a recent college graduate who is looking to start a career in the tech field, their mission and goal really touched me and made me join this great company.

What were you doing before you joined Strategio?

I completed a training program where I received a certificate as a Production Support Analyst trainee. I also did self-thought after completing the training whilst waiting to get placed with a client.

What are you most excited about this year?

This year, I am very excited because after my training I waited for a long time to get placed but that never happened. Also, I did a lot of interviews and received many rejection letters but I never gave up. I kept trying and now I am here at Strategio to learn about one of my dream jobs which is DevOps engineer. This will also give me the chance to learn about cloud computing which is also one of my goals.

What made you decide to get into tech?

Ever since I was young, I had always wanted to work in the technology field, so when I got the chance to come to the United State of America, I told myself that this was an excellent opportunity for me to achieve this goal. Before that, I had made some research about careers in technology, how fast it is growing, and how it will take the world in the near future. These things made a big impact on my decision and here I am at Strategio to achieve that goal.

What do you like to do during your spare time?

During my spare time, I like to play video games, listen to music, watch movies and also watch stuff about technology on youtube.

What is your favorite cultural value at Strategio?

My favorite culture is the sharing of knowledge because sharing your knowledge can help others or your team members to learn something new or something they have never heard and add it to the knowledge they already have.

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?

If I could travel anywhere in the world, I would go to Spain, because I want to experience their great culture and food.

What’s your favorite restaurant?

My favorite restaurant is Royal African cuisine in Charlotte, North Carolina.

What are you looking forward to learning/gaining during the Strategio Simulator?

Thank you for taking the time to read this story. If you feel this story excites or inspires you, kindly follow me and comment on this context.

--

--