Meet Enterprise Simulation Leader-DevOps: Nicole Ann Hargrove…Call me Cole tho!!!

Nicole Ann Hargrove
Strategio
Published in
4 min readMar 17, 2022
Cole: Strategio Enterprise Simulation Leader — DevOps

Heyyyy it’s Cole! I am employee #1 at Strategio. In this blog, I am giving you some insight into me. Enjoy!

Describe yourself in 3 words

Three words that would describe me would be empowering, encouraging, and passionate. Empowering because I believe in equipping others to reach their full potential. Encouraging because I will set an atmosphere that is supportive so your confidence can increase. I am passionate about impacting the people that I encounter. My passion is contagious.

Why did you join Strategio?

I joined Strategio because of its missionTo build a community of technologists, dedicated to the purpose of increasing diversity, equity, and inclusion for underrepresented and underserved groups, within enterprise IT. This was my opportunity to change the face of IT at scale. I am the product of a diversity program. I believe that my 20+yrs experience in tech would be utilized in the various capacities of this startup. We are making history, disrupting systemic norms, and transforming lives.

What were you doing before you joined Strategio?

Before I came to Strategio, I was in an AWS Boot Camp called Level Up In Tech. I was in the middle of pivoting my 20+yr career in Sales Engineering to teaching. After being at IBM for 21 yrs and 2yrs at Salesforce, I have been involved in all aspects of enterprise digital transformations, using Design Thinking, Cloud, AI, DevOps, Integration, and Data strategies to create a better customer experience. I have designed and created PoVs, PoCs, led workshops, created technical documents, led responses to RFI/RFPs, acted as the voice of the customer by sharing customer feedback with product management teams, interviewed prospective hires, and mentored/coached many technologists. These experiences provide the foundation for being the Enterprise Simulation Leader — DevOps here at Strategio.

What are you most excited about this year?

I am most excited about seeing the lives of Strategio Technologists transformed. For some of them, this will be their entry into the IT industry. Not only are their lives being transformed but they are also empowered to remove economic barriers and position them for generational wealth.

What made you decide to get into tech?

Originally I majored in Accounting at Old Dominion University and then in my junior year I took a computer programming class. It was so impactful that I decided to double major in Accounting and Information System Management. Before graduation, I was all in on one company, IBM. I was hired from a diversity program at IBM called Project View. I am proof that diversity programs work and are necessary for the IT Industry.

What do you like to do during your spare time?

During my spare time, I like to travel, hang out with family and friends, lounge at the pool, bowl, and roller skate on quads on the hardwoods.

YES those are Riedells!

What is your favorite cultural value at Strategio?

Oooo all eight are so good…I gotta pick one tho? OK, my favorite value is Think strategically, act scalably. I am a visionary and big picture thinker. I love to design and implement solutions that are useful not only immediately but also for the future. It’s the architect in me. I love how these values help us to be the cultural ambassadors at Strategio. We practice them internally and externally.

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?

Travel is one of my favorite things I like to do in my spare time. I was saddened when my Greece trip was canceled in 2020 due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Italy has been at the top of my list for a while now. In fact, I am scheduled to travel there in 2023. I am looking forward to going to Italy because I want to see some of the Christian historical sites, eat some authentic Italian meals, and meet the people.

What’s your favorite restaurant?

I don’t have a favorite restaurant but favorite foods. I love sushi, pizza, spaghetti, fried rice, Baskin-Robbins Pink Bubble Gum Ice Cream, and seafood, especially Blue Crabs. I was born in Baltimore, Maryland, raised in Alexandria, VA, and we love our Baltimore Ravens and Blue Crabs!

Check out this video that describes the advice I have for the next group of technologists joining the simulator!

Now you know Cole

Thanks for following my journey! Remember: SHARING KNOWLEDGE is EMPOWERING and KEEP LEARNING!

--

--

Nicole Ann Hargrove
Strategio

20+yrs of IT Industry expertise from working in and with global corporations in Cloud, Integration and Digital Experiences domains as Solutions Architect.