Meet Strategio Technologist: Kendall Perry

Kendall Perry
Strategio
Published in
2 min readDec 2, 2022

Describe yourself in 3 words:

Creative, curious, compassionate.

Why did you join Strategio’s Simulator?

I joined Strategio’s Simulator to expand upon the skills I’ve learned over the past year while giving me an incredible opportunity to launch my career in tech. I also resonated with Strategio’s mission to bring underrepresented groups into Enterprise IT, and I look forward to being a part of that mission.

What were you doing before you joined Strategio?

I recently completed a coding boot camp from the Grace Hopper Program at Full Stack Academy in May 2022. Before that, I worked for 10 years as a professional musician/composer and a barista in the third-wave coffee industry.

What are you most excited about this year?

I am most excited to grow as a software engineer while learning new skills and perspectives and becoming more connected with the Strategio community.

What made you decide to get into tech?

About a year ago, I was ready to leave my barista support job for a stable full-time career that would be both creatively and mentally stimulating. After speaking with my sister, who went through a boot camp and became a software engineer a few years before I did, I was inspired to take an Intro to Javascript class. I immediately fell in love with the way of thinking and wanted to learn more. This reminded me of how much I enjoyed a high school web design class back in 2007, where I spent numerous hours designing my own website meticulously using HTML and CSS to bring it to life. While I pursued music as a career, I always had an interest in web development. Fast forward back to one year ago, I was hooked once again on coding with a new set of career priorities for my life.

What do you like to do during your spare time?

I love creating music, making things with clay, and spending time in nature.

What is your favorite cultural value at Strategio?

To be unapologetically yourself. I believe we can learn so much from one another, and having the space to be fully who we are going such a long way to building meaningful connections.

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?

I’d love to go back and spend more time in Portugal!

What’s your favorite restaurant?

City ‘O City in Denver, Colorado.

What are you looking forward to learning/gaining during the Strategio Simulator?

--

--