Meet Strategio Technologist: Meredith Quintana

Meredith Quintana
Strategio
Published in
4 min readJul 22, 2022
Picture of Meredith Quintana with the backdrop of a beach

Hello! My name is Meredith Quintana. I’m a recent Computer Science graduate from the University of California, Irvine. I currently reside in California and am a part of Strategio’s third simulator.

Here’s a little insight into who I am and why I’m here.

Describe yourself in 3 words

Reliable — I’m a person that my friends can comfortably ask for help knowing that I will be able to be there for them in any way that I can. In the workplace, I keep track of all my tasks and prioritize them accordingly. This ensures that I prioritize and make sure work is done correctly and on time. I am a person that people can lean on and I try to make myself available to help my peers.

Resilient — Throughout my life, there have been times where I’ve failed and times where it seemed like everything was going wrong. Despite it all, I am still here. I can survive challenges and I welcome them. Whenever I face something unexpected, I remain positive and tell myself I can do it. The failures and near-failures are just a part of the journey of growth.

Understanding — With my experience in User Experience Design, I strive to be an understanding and kind person. I make sure to listen to others’ feedback, and I value their opinions and experiences. I’m very open to new ideas and hearing about different experiences.

Why did you join Strategio’s Simulator?

I joined Strategio’s Simulator because I thought it would be an amazing opportunity to learn skills I hadn’t been taught in a traditional college setting and help in my job search. It would also set a good foundation for my first day of work. I’m also in strong support of Strategio’s values and mission of helping underrepresented and underserved groups break into IT.

What were you doing before you joined Strategio?

Before joining Strategio, I had just graduated. I worked part-time as a middle school STEM Instructor as well as part-time for my university’s computer lab as an attendant. After graduation, aside from job-hunting, I had taken some time to re-energize and spend time with my family, as well.

What are you most excited about this year?

I’m very excited to get a footing in my career in IT! I’m excited to try new things and see what I can do in the industry to make a positive impact on the world.

What made you decide to get into tech?

When I was in high school, like many students out there, I didn’t know what I was going to do in college. I took my first Computer Science course my senior year and a whole world opened up to me. I had always thought it would be cool to be able to code, and I found that I enjoyed programming and solving problems. As I pursued my degree, I realized that this pathway had a multitude of opportunities to explore, and many of them were impactful in one way or another. I hope to one day be a part of a team that makes a positive impact to many.

What do you like to do during your spare time?

In my spare time, I love to watch shows, and movies, read, and do art. I also like playing video games with my friends and it’s helped us stay connected now that we’re all in different places in the world post-graduation. Recently, I’ve had the opportunity to go to more concerts, as well!

What is your favorite cultural value at Strategio?

While all values are great, I think my favorite is “Fail-Fast and learn”. I don’t view failures as something completely negative. The aftermath is the most important. I think failures are inevitable and necessary to grow and learn more.

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?

I had an amazing opportunity to study abroad in Fall 2021 in South Korea and would love to go back to visit, as well as make stops in Japan, Singapore, and the Philippines.

What’s your favorite restaurant?

I don’t have a particular favorite restaurant that I visit frequently, but I do have a recent recommendation! If you’re ever in West Hollywood and have a craving for Thai food, Luv2Eat Thai Bistro is a wonderful place. My friends and I had Pad See Ew, Yellow Curry, and Crab Fried Rice and it was all very delicious!

What are you looking forward to learning/gaining during the Strategio Simulator?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1r8Ztom0x-tSnAZ7h8_whmHzn_O1gssrw/view?usp=sharing

[CC] I’m looking forward to learning more about technologies and concepts I’m unfamiliar with. I think this simulator will help prepare me for work in the real world. I’m also looking forward to the community and connections made here as well as being able to get to know the leaders and other technologists more.

--

--