Meet Strategio Technologist: Pablo Alonso Landa

Pablo Alonso Landa
Strategio
Published in
3 min readDec 2, 2022

Describe yourself in 3 words

Passionate — I am always motivated by the things that I like. I am obsessed with math and coding. I love learning new stuff that could drive me to sharpen my skills and gain better practices. When I face a challenge, I work hard until I solve it, and then I look for another one.

Organized — I always define a to-do list for my daily tasks. I break down each of my tasks to have an easier way to complete them. I feel that being organized increases my productivity and helps me to deliver my tasks on time. Also, I apply this philosophy to my code (as the author of the Clean Code book promotes: ‘’Writing clean code is what you must do in order to call yourself a professional”).

Ambitious — Achievement of my dreams and goals is fundamental in my life. I thrive on challenges and constantly set goals for myself, so I have something to strive toward. I’m not comfortable with settling. I always want to be a better person.

Why did you join Strategio’s Simulator?

Starting my career in tech is one of my current goals. Strategio offered me the push I needed to reach that goal. I was also attracted to their values and how they try to increase diversity in tech.

What were you doing before you joined Strategio?

Before joining Strategio, I studied technical books about different technologies: ASP.NET, Django, TDD, and others. I worked on my personal projects putting into practice the acquired knowledge.

What are you most excited about this year?

I am excited to start my career in tech. I look forward to sharing knowledge and learning from my peers. Also, being in direct contact with people like our Strategists who have been in the tech world for so long represents a great learning opportunity for me. I would love to put my knowledge into practice while contributing to interesting projects.

What made you decide to get into tech?

Ever since I was a child, I was very interested in science. When I started high school, my passion for science became even stronger. I participated in national physics competitions during my first two high school years. In my senior year, I had a great math teacher who taught me that there was a world where I could use math to create amazing things.

I went to the University of Havana to study Computer Science. From the first day I stepped into a Computer Science class, I knew I was in the right place. Tech started to be everything to me.

What do you like to do during your spare time?

I like to spend time with my family and friends in my free time. I like to work on my personal projects. I love algorithms and data structures; that’s why I spend a lot of time-solving problems and participating in contests in Leetcode, Atcoder, Codeforces, and Codewars. I also like to play guitar in the solitude of my room. To be honest, I’m not very good at it, but I like it.

What is your favorite cultural value at Strategio?

My favorite cultural value at Strategio is “Be Better.” Life is a competition with many players, but you have only one rival, and that is you. Being better than our past self is the most rewarding feeling we can experience.

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?

If I could go anywhere in the world, I would visit my family and friends in Cuba. Despite the dictatorial government that rules my country, I want to go there, the desire to hug my dad and laugh with my friends is immense.

What’s your favorite restaurant?

My grandmother’s house is the best place to eat. My grandmother is an excellent cook, and as I am her only grandson, I have the privilege of being spoiled with the delicacies she cooks for me. For this reason, I do not have a favorite restaurant.

PS: She is watching what I am writing and is threatening me.

What are you looking forward to learning/gaining during the Strategio Simulator?

--

--