Meet Technologist Heng (Mizuho) Wang

Heng Wang
Strategio
Published in
4 min readJan 17, 2023

Describe yourself in 3 words.

  • Curious— I’ll always try to dive deeper and explore broader for more accurate answers. For example, when I see a bug, I won’t just stop at “how to fix it.” but will continue into “why could it happen.” Sometimes I might touch the fundamental level of things, and it will force my brain to run in an overheated condition, but I love such a discovery. It is not only limited to software engineering theories but also any concepts about the physical, mental, spiritual, or virtual worlds. So you might see I suddenly buy a book about the habit of Felis Lybica.
  • Self-esteem — When I deliver a product, I’ll ensure it is the most complete that my team or I can do at this point. I’ll feel like I super failed when I offer a buggy product, which makes the users painful when using it. I’ll make sure my users will gain an at least fluent experience from the thing my team or I give them.
  • Problem-solving — As a logical person, I pay great attention to how to solve it when a problem that comes to me. I’m not a person having no emotion at all, but I’ll always be the one to keep myself on track, and try my best to help my teammates feel better in both physical and mental aspects, finally we’ll excel in different conditions and environments.

Why did you join Strategio’s Simulator?

I love the respect Strategio gives to people from different backgrounds. Diversity, Equality & Inclusive is always the thing I’m looking for from a company. Also, Strategio has a crucial value called “Be unapologetically yourself” which really touched me. As a queer person born in a conservative society, I frequently felt something might be wrong with me before I finally knew my true self. However, this value tells me that it wasn’t a mistake for me to be different from others; of course, I don’t need to apologize.

What were you doing before you joined Strategio?

Prior to joining Strategio, I:

  • Gained a Bachelor’s degree in Computer Science.
  • Worked as a project manager and the depart manager for one year.
  • Obtained a Master’s degree in Computer Engineering.
  • Had a career break because of some family stuff.
  • Tried to start an indie game studio.
  • Worked as a tractor driver on a farm.
  • Then head back to the industry again by studying the most updated tech stacks in App Academy.

What are you most excited about this year?

It has been only ten days this year, but I’ve already got my exciting thing: with the value of Strategio, I’m finally able to live as my true self, and show it transparently to everyone. Besides, I’m also exploring what the real “myself” is, such a milestone is another point I’m excited about.

What made you decide to get into tech?

My first crush on the tech world was when I wrote my first line of code as a 4-year-old kid. The software was called LOGO, which allows the users to control a turtle to draw some pictures, but with PURE CODE. It opened a window to this logical and reasonable digital world. From then on, I started diving deep into IT concepts and stories of Alan Turing, who had found the fundamental theories supporting that. All of these make me want to be someone contributing to this tech field — it built a new dimension that could make human life easier.

What do you like to do during your spare time?

  • Video games, especially simulation games.
  • Fitness, includes weightlifting.
  • Looking forward to seeing more knowledge.
  • And learning everything which could make me an amateur composer.

What is your favorite cultural value at Strategio?

Actually, every value Strategio suggests fits my personal life value. However, as I mentioned above, the value of “Be unapologetically yourself” is significant to me, because this is my current life challenge: stop thinking that being different, and being someone in the queer community is my mistake. I did nothing wrong about being myself so why should I apologize for it 😄

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?

If it is limited to the Earth, I’ll travel to every neuroscience/brain science lab to get a real-time view of how the human neuro system works. Or I’ll go to every astronomy lab with a telescope client or receiver so I can see the most original picture captured by the scopes. I must say there will always be more, since I’m inquisitive about how this world and how humans are “coded.”

If it is not limited to the Earth, or this dimension… I’ll find some aliens with a higher science level and ask them, “How do you think about Gödel’s incompleteness theorems?” 🤣

What’s your favorite restaurant?

To be honest, I’m not the kind of person who chooses a specific restaurant as my favorite one. But the BBQ buffet/all-you-can-eat restaurants with a menu of great proteins, a good quantity of Iron (element), sufficient carbohydrates, and enough fiber will make me super happy.

What are you looking forward to learning/gaining during the Strategio Simulator?

I’m so grateful that you see this paragraph! It means at least you did not get frightened by my weird characteristics🤣. Don’t hesitate to comment or follow me, then you can see a lot of fun facts and funny tech blogs here.

Fun fact: I’m full of fun facts!

Thank you for reading!

--

--