Meet Technologist: Jeffrey Ally

Jeffrey Ally
Strategio
Published in
4 min readJan 13, 2023

Hi, my name is Jeffrey Ally. I worked as a Full Stack Web Development Teaching Assistant last year, and I recently started as a Technologist with Strategio.

Describe yourself in 3 words:

Persistent— I love being asked, “What challenges or obstacles have you overcome?” in interviews. To date, the hardest challenge I have ever taken on was learning a second language. For many few years, my routine would be to study, speak, stumble, and study some more. The process taught me A LOT about myself and about the value of hard work and persistence.

Resourceful— Ever since I was a kid, I have always been a planner. Being a planner means that you learn very quickly how fast plan As and plan Bs tend to disappear. But it also forces you to learn how to adapt and to make the best of the current circumstances. Feel free to ask me how I increased sales by 10% at the Little Caesars shop I used to work at with no marketing budget.

Grateful— This one stems from my years of experience working in a hospital as a Respiratory Therapist. I’ve had patients as young as 9 and as old as 90 pass away on me, and I’ve also seen a lot of suffering caused by various illnesses. Every breath is a gift, and tell people you love them as much as you can. Those are things that I will never forget. Also…

NEVER RIDE IN A CAR WITHOUT A SEATBELT.

If there is one thing you remember from reading this, please let it be that.

Why did you join Strategio’s Simulator?

I came across Strategio at the Miami Venture Tech Hiring Fair and after talking with Jennifer for two minutes I knew this was the place for me. Strategio’s Simulator is an opportunity for me to get some hands-on experience with enterprise technology and I’m excited to be able to apply what I learn in a job setting. I also respect Strategio’s mission of increasing diversity, equity, and inclusion for underrepresented groups within tech.

What were you doing before you joined Strategio?

Trying to figure things out. I am asthmatic so when the pandemic started my goal was to gain a new skill set while working odd jobs that kept me away from COVID. While studying I have worked as a Phone Customer Service Rep, Food Deliverer, Dishwasher, Office Assistant Intern, and a Full Stack Web Development Teaching Assistant.

My last job was easily my favorite and helping students learn was awesome(although I’m definitely not the GOAT.)

What are you most excited about this year?

Definitely being with Strategio and going through the Simulator. I look forward to learning more about different technologies while building a community with Strategio.

What made you decide to get into tech?

I’ve always liked tech, and I especially loved messing around with basic HTML and CSS on my old MySpace page. The problem was that I chose a career at 17, and I had no idea at the time that I could work with tech for a living. However, when the pandemic started I was forced to rethink things and decided to pursue it.

What do you like to do during your spare time?

I like reading about technology and code. There’s always something new to learn when it comes to tech. I also have a huge list of SNES(Super Nintendo Entertainment System)games that I want to play, but it’ll take some time before I’m in a position to start crossing that off my list.

What is your favorite cultural value at Strategio?

I would say that “Fail Fast and Learn” resonates with me a lot. When I was younger I realize that I wasn’t comfortable with that concept. That wasn’t a good thing. When I finally understood how much that was holding me back, I made an effort to change that and it truly makes a difference.

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?

Ireland. I promised my wife I would take her there when we got married. I look forward to fulfilling that promise one day.

What’s your favorite restaurant?

Taco Bell! Taco Bell has gotten me through some hard times. Funnily enough, my mom said that she ate at Taco Bell a lot when she was pregnant with me. Basically, I was brainwashed in the womb.

What are you looking forward to learning/gaining during the Strategio Simulator?

Check out my video response below!

Thanks for taking the time to read this and to get to know me better. Feel free to leave a comment and follow me on Medium. Also, feel free to connect with me on LinkedIn!

--

--