Meet Technologist Jordan Blount

Jordan Blount
Strategio
Published in
3 min readAug 19, 2022

Hey, y’all! My name is Jordan Blount, and I’m a Technologist at Strategio. I wanted to share a little about my journey and where I’m headed currently.

Describe yourself in 3 words.

Patient, Observant, Thoughtful

I believe I’m patient with others because I understand that each person has strengths and difficulties, and I try to give people a chance because I want them to do the same for me. Observant because I am always paying close attention to what is happening around me, and I always notice the little things. When people tell me things about themselves, I try to pay close attention and keep note of such things. Finally, Thoughtful because I try to be considerate of others based on things they have shared with me. An example of this would be when I give people gifts. I usually try to think of something that they have previously told me or that I have observed in them so that the gifts end up being “thoughtful.” These are also some of the words that I have often heard other people associate with me.

Why did you join Strategio’s Simulator?

I joined the Simulator to learn more about DevOps and Site Reliability Engineering. My focus in programming has been heavily centered on web development in the past year or so. I wanted to spend more time becoming a “well-rounded” software engineer with some knowledge of each part of the DevOps cycle.

What were you doing before you joined Strategio?

Looking for a job as a Software Engineer and working mainly on personal projects and freelance work.

What are you most excited about this year?

I’m excited about moving into the tech industry and working professionally as a Software Engineer. I created a goal almost 10 years ago that I would one day work as a Software Engineer. Throughout the years, that goal stayed the same and is finally coming to fruition.

What made you decide to get into tech?

I wanted to make a difference in other people’s lives. It seems like that is usually the reason that most people give. When I was little, I would love to tinker with things. I used to take my toys apart and put them back together to understand how they were made. I think curiosity and the ability to understand things fundamentally pushed me toward tech.

What do you like to do during your spare time?

I like to exercise (going to the gym and jumping rope), cooking, and watching shows in Brazilian Portuguese and Korean.

What is your favorite cultural value at Strategio?

Share Knowledge — I believe we can all gain from listening to other people’s perspectives and receiving advice/tips from others. Sometimes people have fought brutal battles to overcome a problem or learn a skill. Sharing that knowledge (or receiving it) may help someone else avoid pitfalls and certain difficulties that they would otherwise have to face without such advice. This has been key for me in picking up skills (such as another language) reasonably quickly.

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?

Portugal! I’ve wanted to visit Portugal for a few years since I lived in Brazil and learned Portuguese. The Portuguese spoken in Portugal is slightly different, but I can understand it pretty well. I also have a friend who lives there that I haven’t seen for years.

Photo by Nick Karvounis on Unsplash

What’s your favorite restaurant?

Big Chow Grill. It was a super cool restaurant where you could make your stir-fry bowl. You would get a bowl and walk around a buffet counter, picking up the ingredients you wanted. After that, you would drop the bowl off at the end so they could prepare your stir-fry. Finally, A waiter/waitress would bring your bowl to your table after being cooked. It was awesome because it was cheap, good, and the food usually was ready in less than 10 minutes. Unfortunately, Big Chow Grill closed during the pandemic.

What are you looking forward to learning/gaining during the Strategio Simulator?

--

--