Meet Technologist: Tyson Roussel

Describe yourself in 3 words:

Tyson Robert Roussel
Strategio
Published in
4 min readJan 17, 2023

--

Open-Minded: I am very open-minded, and I love to learn new things. Everything and anything; could be related to tech, music, mindfulness…etc. I especially love questions, there's nothing better than asking a question and curiosity leading the way into a deep conversation with someone!

Passionate: I use the word passionate because I'm passionate about life in general; especially learning. I try to learn something new every day. I also strive to become a better person each day than I was the day before. To accomplish these goals many believe that it requires dedication and willpower…but in truth, all anything requires is passion.

Harmonious: I can be described as zen. I tend to be harmonious in all aspects of my life and in every situation. It is extremely uncommon for me to react in anger or succumb to pressure. No matter what the situation or who the person, I focus on the positives.

Why did you join Strategio’s Simulator?

I joined Strategio because they took a chance on me and provided an opportunity that other companies might not have. From the beginning Strategio made me feel like a valued member of their community. While other companies were quick to judgment and unwilling to think outside of the box when hiring someone at the very beginning of their career, Strategio saw potential and recognized my skills despite my lack of previous experience.

Strategio’s dedication to increasing Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion spoke directly to my heart and soul. I belong here! And no matter what your race, gender, sexual orientation, or pronouns are….You belong here too!

What were you doing before you joined Strategio?

For most of my life, I had the opportunity to live in Cancun Mexico. It was there that I became fluent in Spanish which greatly benefited me when relocating to Miami, and working as a shift supervisor at Starbucks. It was an amazing experience that provided me with skills that will be useful in my career as a Software Engineer, ie problem-solving, time management, resourcefulness, and most importantly, receiving and providing feedback.

What are you most excited about this year?

I'm excited to join the fascinating and ever-changing world of tech.

What made you decide to get into tech?

Even as a small child, I have been fascinated by technology. I can remember breaking down my electronic toys, investigating the components, and then rebuilding them. Because of this, my Mom has always encouraged me to get into the tech world. When I finally joined boot camp I realized that my mom was right because I truly had a passion for it. My innate inquisitiveness fuels my desire to learn, and continue to learn, all that I can. Thankfully the tech world is everchanging and advancing so there is always something new to learn.

What do you like to do during your spare time?

In my spare time, not going to lie I'm addicted to playing pokemon. I also love listening to all types of music but EDM and R&B are my favorites. Recently I started practicing Buddhism and studying its various principles so that I can apply them to my everyday life.

What is your favorite cultural value at Strategio?

Be Better Value (IMG)
Image Source Highlight
Be unapologetically yourself value (IMG)
Image Source Highlight
Continuously Learn Value (IMG)
Image Source Highlight

I believe strongly in each of Strategio’s values. I chose to focus on “Be Better”, “Be Unapologetically Yourself”, and “Continuously Learn” because they are in harmony with my core self. I strive every day to learn and to become a better person while remaining unapologetically myself.

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?

Chinese Temple
Image Source Highlight

If I could go anywhere in the world, I would choose either China or India because of the vast differences in their cultures, which would give me yet another opportunity to learn. In addition, their history, architecture, and natural landscapes would be fascinating because of how unique they are when compared to the USA.

What’s your favorite restaurant?

Without a doubt, my favorite restaurant is Charlotte’s Bakery in South Beach. While technically not what most people would call a restaurant, the delicious limited menu and amazing pastries more than make up for its small size. Until you have tried their tequeños and empanadas, have you ever lived?!

Tequenos and empanadas
Image Source Highlight

Follow me as I grow from tech newbie to tech genius, all while providing insightful and delicioso content! Feel free to comment with your favorite foods and foreign lands!

--

--

Tyson Robert Roussel
Strategio

Motivated Software Engineer. Passionate about tech, mindfulness, growth mindset, and improving myself daily!