Meet the Technologist: Antoine Gaton

Antoine Gaton
Strategio
Published in
3 min readOct 24, 2022

Hello, world! My name is Antoine Gaton and I recently joined Strategio as a Technologist in October. I am a New Yorker residing in Fort Myers, FL who changed careers from the medical field to tech.

Describe yourself in 3 words: Patient, Resilient, and Resourceful. Being patient with myself and life, being resilient when confronted with adversity or failure, and using my resources always improve myself and get ahead. I believe these three attributes have helped me through many vital moments in my life, even now as prepare myself to venture into the next chapter in my tech career.

Why did you join Strategio’s Simulator? Working as a teaching assistant, at the same coding boot camp I graduated from, allowed me to grow and foster my skills as a software engineer, but that time has come when I am itching for a challenge and to grow as an engineer.

What were you doing before you joined Strategio? I was a teacher assistant at the coding boot camp; before that, I was a nurse.

What are you most excited about this year? I feel like I am currently in a position in my engineering journey where I as a person and the skills I possess are ready for an elevation in my career I can feel it happening this year and that gets me excited.

What made you decide to get into tech? My love for tech started probably when I first held an NES controller for the first time at 4 years old there was something magical about pressing a button and something on the screen reacted to my actions. Or when a 15-year-old Antoine learned HTML, CSS, and JS to modify his MySpace page. As years have gone the love has grown and now I am ready to contribute to the industry that has influenced so much in my life.

What do you like to do during your spare time? When I am not coding and trying to teach myself new technology, I like reading, watching movies, or playing video games.

What is your favorite cultural value at Strategio? Fail-Fast and learn: At my age, I come to embrace failure and not be afraid of it because I’ve come to value the wisdom and knowledge that comes from failing and not being afraid of taking chances and being creative.

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go? Hands down Japan is the one place I have on my bucket list as a place I must visit before my time on this Earth is done. Everything from history, culture, cuisine, and geography has me enamored.

What’s your favorite restaurant? As a New Yorker there is nothing like a good ol’ slice of pizza, but living in Florida that can be hard to find. However, Downtown House of Pizza, makes pizza so good that it would make a ninja turtle breakdance.

What are you looking forward to learning/gaining during the Strategio Simulator?

That’s a little about me and if you made it this far then we should connect on LinkedIn please stay tuned and follow me for future blog posts and updates. Also, if you enjoy the read don’t forget to leave me a👏 and leave a 💬 sharing with me what your favorite programming language and framework is. At the moment mine is Python with Flask.

--

--

Antoine Gaton
Strategio

Mainframe Engineer @ TD Bank | Teaching Assistant @ Coding Dojo