Meet the Technologist: Jesus Avila

Jesus Avila
Strategio
Published in
3 min readJan 17, 2023

Describe yourself in 3 words:

Self-Learner — When I got my first computer in middle school I’ve always loved tinkering with it inside and out. Through this, I learned the basics of computer software and computer components. Since then that type of learning style seeps into everything I do and did at school. Researching itself is a skill and I believe one can keep getting better at it with practice.

Hard-Working — Even if I’m outmatched or I don’t know how to do something I’ll figure it out or do what I can. If my shots aren’t going in, then I’ll play really hard defense. If I have to do a coding project in a language I don’t know, then I’ll learn it.

Perfectionist — This one is double-edged since I can focus on a task until it is near perfect given the time frame. However, this can cause me to overfocus on step 3 of a task instead of moving on to the next steps.

Why did you join Strategio’s simulator?

To learn the most current in-demand skills and to start and further my engineering career.

What were you doing before you joined Strategio?

Before Strategio I was finishing up my Computer Engineering degree at FIU. Since graduating I’ve been looking at opportunities to start my career while making sure my skills stay sharp.

What are you most excited about this year?

I’m most excited to finally take my passion into the real world and take on challenges that will force me to keep improving.

What made you decide to get into tech?

It started when my family got our first computer: a windows 98 machine. Since then I loved how this machine can do almost anything. I eventually built my first custom PC at 14 years old with the help of a friend. I, like many, became the IT guy for the family and used it as an opportunity to open up laptops and desktops to see how the hardware works.

What do you like to do during your spare time?

Weightlifting, playing video games, watching anime and movies, and keeping up to date with the latest technologies online.

What is your favorite cultural value at Strategio?

Fail-Fast and learn. Michael Jordan said it best: “I’ve missed more than 9000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. 26 times, I’ve been trusted to take the game-winning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed.” We often learn more from our failures than our successes, so I think this value holds for anyone learning anything!

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?

At this moment in time, I would say Colombia to visit my family and heritage.

What’s your favorite restaurant?

Xochimex Cantina Grill.

What are you looking forward to learning/gaining during the Strategio simulator?

Thanks for reading! If you are interested in what comes next on my tech adventure please click Follow and/or Subscribe. Don’t hesitate to comment below and share your thoughts as well!

--

--