Meet the Technologist John Emilio

John Emilio
Strategio
Published in
5 min readJan 17, 2023

Describe yourself in 3 words:

Resilient — A manager at a previous opportunity would say that our department’s motto was “Semper Gumby”, aka “Always Flexible” (possibly a familiar saying for those that were in the US Armed Forces). In my previous career as a Registered Nurse working in the emergency department, I always had to be prepared to face a wide variety of issues that could arise. Adaptability was one of the most important skills I built and something that I carry with me no matter what I’m doing.

Resourceful — Another outcome of my previous work experience was being resourceful. I am the first to admit that I don’t know everything, but I will also admit that I will try my hardest to research, learn, and grow from those unknown opportunities. I take pride in my desire to grow, knowing how to ask for help, where to look for information, and expand professional relationships — all of these I see as aspects of being resourceful.

Patient — Progress is usually a slow process that requires learning, determination, failing, and patience. Over time I have come to understand that patience truly is a virtue. Being frustrated at a circumstance or upset that something hasn’t happened is human nature. While these feelings may still be in all of us, patience has been something that I have grown to appreciate and adapt to fit in not only my daily life but also my professional life. Sometimes it is not about the outcome but more about the journey of getting there.

Why did you join Strategio’s Simulator?

I think the work that Strategio has done and the vision for Strategio’s future are things that anyone can get behind. Throughout my professional career, I have mentored many people early in their careers so I know the importance of having a stable, diverse, and welcoming atmosphere. That is what really drew me to seek my opportunity to join Strategio. After reading what some of the previous Technologists have said about their time at Strategio, I immediately jumped at the opportunity because I understand that having this opportunity to grow, learn, and build connections is not to be taken lightly and I know I will cherish it throughout my career.

What were you doing before you joined Strategio?

My journey into tech will be my second career. I am a Registered Nurse and spent most of my time working in the emergency department. In 2021 I moved from Virginia to Florida with my fiancé and decided I wanted a change of pace. I started to work in an office helping to coordinate hospital transfers, but eventually found the opportunity to work with the online community of 100 Devs and start my journey into software engineering. As a nurse, I worked on teams as an end-user in implementing new software. This is where my fascination with the software development field began.

What are you most excited about this year?

I think like most of the Technologists in Simulator Group 7, I am most excited about the start of my new career in the tech industry. Since I like being resourceful, I love to learn new technologies, learn how and why things are done a certain way, and learn how others view and complete tasks in a way I may never have thought of. I am also looking forward to working with this diverse group and growing my professional relationships.

What made you decide to get into tech?

Ever since I was young, I always had an interest in the newest technologies. I remember my family’s first DVD player, the first iPod, and the first Bluetooth-capable device. As I grew up I understood more and more the importance that technology plays not only in our day-to-day lives but our growth as a society. Of course, switching careers is no small feat, but I felt the time was right and I am thankful to have a great support system that encourages my growth.

What do you like to do during your spare time?

In my spare time, I enjoy lifting weights, playing video games, and spending time with my fiancé. Video games have been a big part of my life growing up — I have life-long friendships from playing video games, and it is always one of the things that initially sparked my interest in new tech. I also enjoy spending time outdoors, like playing tennis and bass fishing (although I haven’t had much time for that recently).

What is your favorite cultural value at Strategio?

My favorite value at Strategio is “Be better”. Everyone strives to achieve their best at the things that are important to them but, unfortunately, not every day is a home run. Being better is about striving to improve every chance you can. Having success in anything is about learning from the past, implementing successful strategies, and not being afraid to make mistakes — all key attributes to “Be better”!

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?

I would love to take a trip through Italy. My sister-in-law used an online genealogy company and found the records from when my great-great-grandfather came to America from Italy in the 1890s, so I would love to visit the small mountain village he left. I would also like to visit some seaside towns and wineries/vineyards.

What’s your favorite restaurant?

I don’t really eat out too much, but one of my favorite dishes to make is a garlic and lemon shrimp linguine. Cook some linguine. On a large skillet add a pound of peeled shrimp with 2 tablespoons of butter/olive oil and cook for a few minutes, then add chopped garlic cloves (I add about half a head of garlic but I really like garlic 😊), squeeze half a lemon, maybe toss in some grated parmesan, and then fold everything into the linguine once the shrimp is fully cooked. Top off your pasta with some chopped parsley and more grated parmesan for taste.

What are you looking forward to learning/gaining during the Strategio Simulator?

There are so many exciting activities, ideas, and events to look forward to during the Strategio Simulator. Check out my video for a more specific answer!

I am super excited to take on this new chapter in my life and professional career, and can’t thank the people that work behind the scenes every day at Strategio for providing this opportunity. I’m looking forward to providing more insight into my journey through the Strategio Simulator and be sure to follow for more of my perspective as someone breaking into tech!!

--

--

John Emilio
Strategio

Registered Nurse turned Software Engineer. Providing creative solutions, improving accessibility, and leveling up those around me are my passions.