Technologist Spotlight: Luis Oliveros

Luis Oliveros
Strategio
Published in
4 min readOct 19, 2022

Describe yourself in 3 words

I guess I would start with the word Determined. I’m the kind of person that always sets out to finish things I decide to start. In the past, as I feel many others have experienced, I felt uncertain about wanting to continue with my computer science major based on the difficulty of the courses. Nevertheless, I managed to keep calm and stayed on the course to graduate successfully.

Another word I’d use is Observant. I tend to think a lot, it’s a blessing and a curse. On one hand, it’s useful to be able to focus on specific subjects or items for extended periods of time. It can strengthen one’s understanding and expand one’s perspective. On the other hand, it can be a negative that leads to worrying, overthinking, and getting stuck perceiving the subject or item in one way. Lastly, I’d choose the word Honest. I value being transparent with my peers, friends, and family. To me, being honest just saves trouble down the road and is unfair to oneself and/or to the person being lied to.

Why did you join Strategio’s Simulator?

I joined Straegio after searching for a couple of months for entry-level positions to jump-start my professional career. I had recently graduated earlier in the year and wanted to find an opportunity to apply all that I gained during my four years of undergrad. I had little luck in my search until I came across Strategio. I was hesitant at first because my mindset was still stuck on the months of no luck. However, my opinion has shifted since joining and meeting the team. I now welcome all the knowledge and experience I will gain in the Simulator from the team and my peers.

What were you doing before you joined Strategio?

Before joining Strategio I was still in college pursuing my Bachelor of Science in Computer Science. I concluded my major at the end of spring 2022. Afterward, I spent the summer applying for employment opportunities and enjoying the summer after my graduation going out with friends and family.

What are you most excited about this year?

I am extremely excited and nervous about starting my first professional job relating to my career. Don’t get me wrong I’m scared but really looking forward to it. Additionally, I’m looking forward to new movie and tv show releases from Marvel and DC later this year. I am also planning a trip to visit family near the holidays. We are planning to meet in Massachusetts which is pretty cool since I have never been.

What made you decide to get into tech?

During my senior year of high school, I was looking into career choices that could balance the line between piquing my interest and paying the bills. After countless google searches and talking to some people in the field I decided to pursue Computer Science. What pulled me to the major was its ever-changing nature. Technology is always expanding and changing so there really isn’t a time to be bored and not learn something new online. Additionally, I love the process of creating projects in the field. It’s multifaceted and requires many moving pieces. It’s planning, designing, developing, testing, and maintaining.

What do you like to do during your spare time?

In my free time, I like to play video games ranging from FPS to OpenWorld explorative games. I also like to go to the gym and work out during the week as I like to push myself to improve strength-wise. I enjoy picking up my guitar or ukulele to learn/play songs I’ve heard in the past or just discovered. Every so often I enjoy playing chess online or when I find people who enjoy the game. Lastly, I like to keep fresh on my coding skills by practicing some Leetcode or trying some small coding projects.

What is your favorite cultural value at Strategio?

My favorite cultural value at Strategio would be Share Knowledge. I’ve always believed in the idea that knowledge should be free and shared with anyone who wants to learn and be informed. All gatekeeping knowledge does is stifle innovation. Being able to share information is so powerful because no one knows everything.

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?

Off the top of my head, I would have to say Japan. I’d perhaps explore Tokyo and Kyoto as I’ve heard great things. It’s been a thought I’ve had at the back of my mind for a while. I would really enjoy taking a week or two to learn about the culture and explore the touristy spots.

What’s your favorite restaurant?

I don’t go to many restaurants around my area but one I do frequent is Merkado 31 in Miami near the beach. It is a Peruvian cuisine restaurant with a wide variety of authentic plates ranging from tasty seafood to yummy chicken and red meat-related dishes. Definitely worth the visit if you are ever around the area.

What are you looking forward to learning/gaining during the Strategio Simulator?

That's all folks! hope you enjoyed the read. if so, leave a follow because there are more blogs to come. Signing off!

--

--