The Midway Point

Jordan Blount
Strategio
Published in
2 min readSep 16, 2022

Hey, y’all. I’m currently halfway through the Simulator here at Strategio. If I could describe my experience so far in a short phrase it would be: lots of learning quickly.

It has definitely been a content-packed few weeks. There have been parts where I have flown through the material/exercises/assignments and other times where I had to spend some more focused effort to understand the concepts. I’ll be honest with you all: it is a lot.

The point of the Simulator is to help get you up to speed or give you a base in a few different technologies, program languages, and tech stacks. You go through topics such as AWS and how to use its cloud services, the basics of both Java and Python, learning about testing and its importance, build systems like Gradle, and more. Remember: This is only halfway, so I don’t know everything yet. I’m sure there is much more coming.

It’s a lot and that is not necessarily a bad thing. I believe it has been great for me to get exposure to all of these technologies. I have gained a better understanding/appreciation for how software/services are architected. My focus up until now has been on front-end development, but while working with Strategio, I’ve had the chance to explore other sides of the SDLC. I enjoy working with the user interface and experience side of building software. But even so, I’ve kept a to-do list of things that I’ve wanted to learn, or at least understand, and the Simulator has been helping me to check some of those things off.

If I could give any advice to my past self at the start of these 8 weeks or even tosomeone considering working with Strategio: Give yourself some grace and remember to be patient. Some of these technologies may be very confusing to you at first, but you will get it. Sometimes, it takes that one well-written resource or video that makes it all click. You will get it. I promise you.

It has been a great few weeks and I’m excited to continue to learn more and build my skills as an engineer. I’m glad that Strategio gives me a chance to work with different technologies to help me continue to push myself to learn more and grow. I look forward to what is to come.

--

--