The Power of Maven! The Popular Build Automation Tool Today!

Norbert Seals
Strategio
Published in
3 min readFeb 21, 2023

Thank you for stopping by! Today I wanted to talk about what build automation is. The build automation tool Maven. My experience using Maven. Also, share other resources to help build your own Maven project and reveal some comments as to which automation testing tool is better. Let’s begin!

Build Automation is the process of automating the creation of a software build and the associated processes including compiling computer source code into binary code, packaging binary code, and running automated tests. As a software developer, I have used build automation tools to help store my dependencies and run tests using Maven in my Java projects.

Maven is one of the popular build automation tools (as described above) to help build and manage projects primarily with Java, including other programming languages such as Ruby, C#, Scala, and others. I typically use Maven on IDEs IntelliJ and VS-Code to run automated tests and store my dependencies. So far I have used tools like Selenium, Pytest, and Gherkin to perform automotive testing when learning about the SDET(Software Development Engineering in Test) Environment.

As you can see in the image above, Maven is stored in my pom.xml file. It tells you the name of the project, what version of Java I’m using, the description of the project, the list of dependencies, and more. With the help of Maven, I am using this project to run HTTP requests on a server using Spring Boot.

Spring Boot is a tool that makes developing web applications and microservices with the Spring Framework faster and easier with capabilities like Autoconfiguration, an opinionated approach to configuration, and the ability to create standalone applications.

With the help of Maven and Spring Boot, I have the ability to make any kind of HTTP request on the localhost:8080 and view any text or web application on the browser. Which is amazing in my opinion. So to my point, Maven can be used in many ways pertaining to all sorts of projects.

But don’t just take my word for it. Check out the testimonies from the software testing help website I found! This amazing website breaks down how to set up the paths to your environment variables and how to create a simple project using Maven. The webpage is very informative with a lot of positive feedback from other developers learning how to build Maven projects. Plus if you ask which automation testing tool is better? I couldn't agree more that Maven is the better tool based on the image of one of the comments below.

Here is another resource to help get you started. My job here is done! Please comment and follow! Thanks! :)

Websites I recommended in the blog:

https://www.lambdatest.com/blog/getting-started-with-maven-for-selenium-testing/

https://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/maven-project-setup-for-selenium-selenium-tutorial-24/

--

--

Norbert Seals
Strategio

Hello, my name is Norbert and I reside in Miami, FL. My favorite sport is basketball and I love to play video games! I am currently a Technologist at Strategio!