We Can All Learn And Flourish With Strategio!

Aisha Lugg
Strategio
Published in
3 min readMar 5, 2022

I started as a technologist at Strategio in the second week of the simulator. I was super excited to learn. The first thing I had to do as a technologist was plan out how to catch up with everyone in the simulator. I thought I had it under control, but I did not give myself enough time to learn the material the first time. Honestly, it took me a few tries to get it together. I used Trello for a little and then switched over to KanbanFlow. While catching up, I forgot how important it is to keep a work-life balance. Yes, I was one of those who would stay on the computer day and night to go through tasks. I was trying to understand each tool and task given. You know when a machine tries to take in so much information, it starts to smoke? That was me 👀. Eventually, I noticed I needed to work on work-life balance. I started waking up early at 6 am to work on priorities gave myself a lot of breaks. If I did not finish a task, I would make sure I find the time to go back to it. My experience as a technologist was terrific. It sure was a learning experience and full of self-improvements. If I had a chance to do it again, I would.

What If I Can Turn Back Time And Be A Part Of The Simulator Again?

I would do many things differently, but I am glad I had the opportunity to learn and flourish with Strategio.

What would I do differently?

  • I would make sure I don't lose sight of who I am.
  • I struggled to explain myself. I would not overthink about perfecting how I speak.
  • I thought I had to be perfect, and if I got something wrong, I would not be "good enough". So I would accept and talk about my failures.
  • I would not spend too much time on my own doing tasks I don't understand. Instead, I would form a group and see if we could get through a task together.
  • Ask more questions about what I didn't understand.
  • I would plan better because I was everywhere with planning at first.

.

Now It's Your Turn To Learn And Flourish!

I want to share some advice that might be useful to those who will be a part of Strategio as a Technologist. Don't worry, you will do fine 😊.

  • You will learn about many tools, and it's okay if you don't know all of them.
  • Don't beat yourself up if you don't understand something the first time. When you're with the simulator, maybe you want to go back to what you did not entirely understand.
  • Make sure you have a work-life balance, give yourself enough breaks.
  • Don't look for acceptance by hiding behind a mask. It's okay to be yourself.
  • If you fail, TRY AGAIN. I give this advice because I failed, and some of you might fail. Just know, that's okay! You have to put in that work and find out what you can do differently to pass.

❁ Thank you for reading. Feel free to provide feedback, and if you like what you read, follow me for more. ❁

--

--

Aisha Lugg
Strategio

Hi there, I love learning about technology and sharing what I have learned with others. I also love listening to music and bike riding.