Wrapping Up Week 1 in the Simulator

Nathalia Delima
Strategio
Published in
3 min readJan 10, 2022

We are excited to start 2022 with our first Simulator ever! We’ve onboarded 12 technologists from different backgrounds where 75% identify as an underrepresented group in Tech. It was important for our simulator to represent our company’s mission, which is to empower and invest in diverse technology talent, increasing representation for all people, and creating higher performing enterprise organizations.

Our 8-week Simulator training is run by Nicole ‘Cole’ Hargrove (Nicole Ann Hargrove). Cole brings 20+ years experience in the IT industry. She has been involved in all phases of enterprise digital transformation, using Design Thinking, Cloud, AI, DevOps, Integration and Data strategies to create a better customer experience. She is the perfect person to train the future technologists in becoming some of the best in the industry.

Now let’s hear from our technologists and share some of their highlights from this week.

  • This week has been pretty incredible in terms of getting hands-on experience. I’ve learned and demonstrated more knowledge in the last 3–4 days than I’ve accumulated in 2 months at my previous boot camp. This week, we’ve mostly focused on the AWS CLI theory & practiced through creating, configuring and managing users/groups/permissions.
  • I can tell Strategio is going to be an enriching & empowering experience. I feel super confident about transitioning to full time work once I’ve wrapped up our 8 weeks together.
  • This Simulator has given me the opportunity to grow in many areas while working closely with the rest of my team. There is a great sense of camaraderie here.
  • The first meeting and starting the program was surreal. It was exciting sharing it with others who have the same goal as me.
  • My first week here at Strategio was very interesting, it’s definitely a different pace than I have come across when learning new tech (college graduate) but it was really fun, especially learning it with my peers and seeing how they view the content compared to how I view it. I’m really enjoying myself.
  • My first week highlight would be learning more about how AWS implements cloud technologies. It has been a super interesting topic to learn about!
  • Getting to the first simulator meeting on Monday- It was a moment of “wow this is it, it’s really happening” after seeing and meeting the team at Strategio and my fellow learning technologists.
  • It hasn’t even been a full week yet and I have learned sooo much already! My favorite thing we’ve explored so far has definitely been AWS. I’ve always wanted to grow my knowledge with it.
  • One highlight from the first week is how digestible the content is compared to content you’d get from a bootcamp or video tutorial. The theory is broken down in chunks that are easy to understand and that can be applied to actual development/further reading.
  • A highlight from the first week was working on our blogs. It was something I had never done in the past, but it’s so cool that we can contribute to the technology world in this way. As well as also grow our own brand at the same time. I love that we are going to have multiple opportunities to do this.
  • Working with Nicole has been great! I love how she created a workflow environment for Sim1 to learn and grow. I am finally starting to understand the WHY of technical concepts that I found difficult to grasp before. I’m excited to continue to learn!

We are excited to see how the rest of the simulator goes for the technologists. Make sure to tune in to our next blog to find out more!

Visit our website to learn more about Strategio.

--

--