Emily Richards: Journey towards the USATF 800m Final as a Collegiate NCAA D-III Student-Athlete

Louis-Carlos Vargas
Streamline Athletes
4 min readJul 13, 2020

--

Searching for the right university, going through the recruitment process, and managing the pressures of high school can be overwhelming, to say the least.

Streamline Athletes hopes to highlight collegiate track and field recruitment stories of all sorts to provide soon-to-be high school graduates with more insight as to how they can start and progress their own journey. Explore your options now!

Emily Richards is an American middle-distance runner, who specializes in the 800 meters. Originally from Delaware Ohio, Richards completed her major in chemistry at Ohio Northern, an NCAA Division III college and is now a professional runner representing HOKA One One and the HOKA New Jersey New York Track Club.

Check out some of Emily’s biggest accomplishments in the sport:

Qualifying for the USATF 800m final as an NCAA Division III student-athlete is a massive feat — and one Richards accomplished in 2017. Richards’ 800m personal best of 2:00.62 is still the NCAA D-III record. If she competed within the NCAA Division I, her 800m time would be the 10th fastest time ever run by a D-I athlete. Emily Richards also holds a 4:12.30 1500m personal best, showing that she can perform at the world-class level in both events.

We interviewed Emily on her time at Ohio Northern, her experience in the USATF 800m final as a collegiate athlete and her unfortunate struggle with injury.

Why did you choose a D-III school over D-I?

I do well in smaller academic environments and Ohio Northern has smaller classes. Academics have always been very important to me and Ohio Northern offered the science program I needed.

NCAA D-III programs emphasize a journey to becoming a more well-rounded individual by staying focused on school and extracurriculars while performing at a high level athletically.

What was it like making the USATF 800m final while still being a collegiate runner in Division III?

I was coming off my 2:00.62 performance in Nashville right before USATFs. I had already thought about being a professional athlete once I graduated but didn’t really know how I would get there. As an NCAA D-III student-athlete, you do not get as much exposure or recognition as NCAA D-I runners.

My coach and I knew that making the USATF final would give me enough exposure in order to get a good pro contract out of college. I think I was a bit naive as to how difficult it would be to make the USATF 800m final; however, I believed in myself. I raced opponents that were faster than me, so I had no chips on my shoulder and a lot less pressure. I simply competed.

Here’s Emily’s interview after the USATF 800m Final:

Why did you choose NJNYTC as a professional training group?

In college, I would mostly train with guys because it would push me in workouts. When looking at NJNYTC, they had Ce’Aira Brown, one of the best 800m runners in the country (1:58.01), as a member. The coaching philosophy also aligned with what I was looking for.

You recently had foot surgery. What happened?

I have had a tendon and bone issue in my foot since the winter of 2019 (posterior ankle impingement). I was planning on running through it until the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo; however, with the COVID-19 situation, it was the perfect time to tackle the problem and get surgery right away. It usually takes between three and four months before you are able to run again.

How do you mentally deal with injuries?

When you’re an athlete, sport is a big part of your life. Your identity might feel stripped away when you’re injured. It’s easy to feel a lack of purpose.

What’s important is having other hobbies. As a student-athlete or professional athlete, we are always on the go. An injury can bring on well-deserved downtime and can also give you a mental break from the sport.

You need to embrace the rest you get from an injury instead of letting it bring you down.

Any last words of wisdom for upcoming athletes?

Believe that you belong. As a high schooler, no matter what [college] program you choose, it is important that you BELIEVE THAT YOU BELONG with the best athletes. It is important to set goals for yourself and stay confident in what you do.

Streamline Athletes is the only free-to-use recruitment platform dedicated to track and field/cross country. Drop us a line at info@streamlineathletes.com if you have any questions about finding your way to college/university.

--

--