A Journey of Learning and Growth: My First Six Months at Street Group

Carrie Haworth
StreetGroup
Published in
5 min readDec 18, 2023

It’s been six months since I joined Street Group, and in this blog, I’ll share my experiences, the challenges I’ve encountered, the achievements I’m proud of, and some unforgettable moments. I’ll share what it truly means to be a part of the Street Group family — from delving into the intricacies of the SaaS industry to being part of a team that values innovation and growth in a dynamic work culture, I’ll provide you with a unique insider’s perspective. Plus find out who my favourite office dog is!

Q1: How has your journey at Street Group been for the first six to twelve months?

It’s been really good. Working at Street Group has been a unique experience as I’ve never worked in a SaaS company before, let alone the property industry. I’ve had a lot to learn, but the transition has been smooth, thanks to the welcoming and knowledgeable team. It’s a place where everyone is eager to share their knowledge, and there’s always someone available to help with questions. It’s been a great learning journey so far.

Q2: What does being a Senior UI/UX Designer at Street Group mean to you?

As a Senior UI/UX Designer at Street Group, my role involves designing user experiences for our products. I work closely with my team, the product owner, and our engineers and stakeholders throughout the design process. Being a senior member means that I’m not only responsible for the design work but also for improving processes, upskilling the UX design team, and finding ways to enhance our ways of working. It’s about constant learning, evolving, and helping the team grow.

People at the Street Group office playing Bingo
Playing Bingo at the opening of our new floor of the Street Group office

Q3: How does working at Street Group compare to your previous roles?

Street Group is quite different from my previous role at On the Beach, which was a larger company with over 300 employees. Street Group is smaller, and it offers a different culture. Both companies have a great culture, but the environment at Street is more personal. We have a strong focus on building a strong work culture, upskilling our teams, and fostering knowledge sharing. The smaller setting allows for more direct collaboration and a faster-paced approach to delivering on projects.

Q4: What’s your favourite memory from your time at Street Group in the last six months?

When I first joined the company, they were in the process of changing the Product teams around, so I had to wait a few weeks to find out who was in my team and meet them. We all went into the office for our first team day and Chris Grice (Head of Engineering) and Danny (Product Owner) ran a workshop for us to get to know each other. It was a fun day and I went in there feeling so nervous because I hadn’t met the majority of people on the team yet, but I was so relieved that everyone was really friendly and we had a good laugh.

Two house rabbits cuddled up on a beanbag
My remote-working buddies — Dexter and Paris the House Rabbits

Q5: What has been your biggest achievement during your time at Street Group in the last six months?

One of my biggest achievements was driving change within the team. We took the initiative to assess our skills and rate ourselves, highlighting where each team member excelled or struggled. This allowed us to focus on upskilling areas where team members needed support and creating a learning culture. We’ve also introduced various workshops and collaborative processes to enhance our skills and maturation as a team. It’s been rewarding to see our team grow and mature in such a short time and knowing that I’ve contributed to that.

Q6: Can you describe a typical day for you at Street Group?

A typical day for me usually involves a mix of meetings and design work. I work closely with the product owner and engineers on projects. We often have workshops to discuss designs and user experiences, and I spend time on my design tasks. Every day is different, and the dynamic work environment keeps things exciting.

Outside of work I go to Pole Fitness classes and also teach Beginners Pole Fitness! I’ve been doing this for 7 years and absolutely love it.

A photograph of me in a Pole Fitness pose
My favourite hobby — Pole Fitness!

Q7: What is one reason someone should join Street Group?

If you’re looking for a dynamic environment where innovation is encouraged, Street Group is the place to be. We’re focused on speed and agility, and we’re always eager to learn, adapt, and grow. It’s a great opportunity to be a part of a team that’s not afraid to challenge the status quo.

Q8: What is one reason someone might not be a good fit for Street Group?

If you’re not comfortable with change or prefer a very structured and traditional work environment, Street Group might not be the best fit. We’re a fast-paced and adaptive team, and we value innovation and dynamic thinking.

Q9: Who’s your favourite office dog at Street Group?

My favourite office dog at Street Group has to be Ringo. He’s such a chilled dog who roams around and just brings a sense of relaxation to the office. Ringo is a lovely addition to our team.

I did also recently meet Buster the Golden Retriever who quickly became my best mate (maybe because I gave him my undivided attention..!)

Buster the Golden Retriever lying down in the office
Buster the office dog!

To find out more about life at Street Group, follow us on LinkedIn, see what our team are saying on Glassdoor, or visit our careers site.

--

--