Product Management Adventures: Charlotte’s Journey at Street Group

Charlotte Nolan
StreetGroup
Published in
5 min readMar 25, 2024

As Charlotte reflects on her journey at Street Group nearing the one-year mark, she shares insights into her role as a Product Manager, the dynamic environment at Street Group, and the exciting developments on the horizon. Join us as Charlotte shares her experiences, challenges, and triumphs in the fast-paced world of product management.

Charlotte, you’ve been with Street Group for nearly a year now. How’s the journey been so far?

It’s been really good. I joined as the product manager for Insights, overseeing our property and market data platform that empowers agents to be the experts, while our white-labelled reports also serve as powerful tools for winning leads. However, my role has quickly expanded. I’m now managing three products, so it’s been a bit of a whirlwind. In these first ten months, I have learnt so much and have grown as a product manager. The business moves so quickly, there is always something new happening which keeps the role interesting. If you’re driven and looking to grow your career, this is definitely the place to be. It’s been a crazy but exciting ten months.

Data Applications team

What does being a Product Manager mean at Street Group?

Well, it’s a multifaceted role that involves a bit of everything. Each of us has our own style, but generally, we’re deeply involved in roadmap planning. We dive into understanding our customers’ needs, advocating for them within each of our product teams. We work closely with designers and engineers to turn our ideas into reality, making decisions on features and design details. It’s all about guiding the team to create the most valuable solutions for our customers. We’re also constantly researching the market and our competitors, looking at the bigger picture to ensure we’re always ahead of the curve. Customer feedback is essential, so we’re regularly in touch with them, either through calls or on site meetings.

I’m also closely aligned with the customer success team. We work hand in hand on go-to-market strategies and gathering customer feedback. It’s a two-way relationship focused on delivering the best products and support to our customers, it’s a very customer centric approach.

The main tools we use as a team are Linear and Figma. Figma is our central hub for ideation and brainstorming, allowing us to visualise our concepts effectively. Personally, though I’m still pretty old fashioned, I write everything down in a notepad, I just find that works best for me.

How does Street Group compare to your previous experiences?

Street Group is the smallest company I’ve worked for, which can come with both pros and cons. In larger organisations, you often feel disconnected from the higher-ups, but here, it’s different, everyone works together more closely. Being at a smaller company gives you a greater sense of impact and ownership that you might not find elsewhere. The pace is faster, too, with fewer bureaucratic hurdles. If you have a good idea, you can run with it, which is incredibly exciting. The ownership and autonomy given to the product managers is amazing.

Do you have a favourite memory from your time here?

Recently, I presented at our Street Con event, which is our bi-annual engineering conference, which was a big step for me as I’m not particularly fond of public speaking. It was a challenge I set for myself, and I’m glad I did it. The positive feedback I received was super rewarding, and it reinforced the importance of stepping out of your comfort zone. It’s very easy to just say no to these things but I thought no, I’m going to push myself, and put myself out there and I’m really glad I did.

Street Con 2024

What has been your biggest achievement since joining us?

While the products I’ve been working on haven’t been released yet, I’d say our approach to building them has been a significant achievement. We’ve adopted a faster, more iterative process that has proven really successful. Despite the uncertainty that comes with it, we’ve managed to create functional products in record time, which is quite an accomplishment.

Why should someone consider joining Street Group?

If you’re looking for a place where you can make a real impact and have a say in the direction of products, Street Group is the place to be. Here, you’re not just a cog in the machine. You have the opportunity to be involved in every stage of the process and contribute meaningfully to the company’s success.

Summer party

Is there any reason someone might not want to join us?

If you prefer a highly structured, rigid work environment, Street Group might not be the best fit. Here, we value autonomy and intuition, which might not align with everyone’s working style.

What are you most excited about for the next 12 months?

I’m looking forward to seeing the products we’ve been working on being released to customers. It’s going to be a transformative time for us, and I can’t wait to see the impact we’ll have on the industry.

And finally, who’s your favourite office dog?

Controversially I’m not a huge dog person, but I have to say, Nala stole my heart once during a meeting. She curled up on my lap for two hours, and it was the cutest thing. So, Nala gets my vote, even though I’m a cat person at heart.

My cat Winter.

To find out more about life at Street Group, follow us on LinkedIn, see what our team are saying on Glassdoor, or visit our careers site.

--

--

Charlotte Nolan
StreetGroup
0 Followers
Writer for

Product Manager at Street Group