Wholesale Blank Review — HOODIES

Ben
Streetwear Basics
Published in
3 min readFeb 21, 2017

This is the first of many wholesale blank garment reviews. Lets talk hoodies

American Apparel Unisex Flex Fleece Drop Shoulder Pullover Hoodie

Features:

  • 8.2 oz., 50% cotton, 50% polyester
  • hooded with White finished polyester drawcord
  • set-in sleeves
  • sideseamed
  • pouch pocket
  • Sizes: XXS-2XL

My Review:
These hoodies are solid. High quality fabric no doubt. It isnt too heavy, but certainly not thin either. The fit is on the slim side along with most American Apparel styles. Shrinks a little after a few washes. Good for printing on. They run about $20–$25 depending where you get them from. A good chioce if you are looking for a slimmer fit hoodie that is high quality. I would use them again.

American Apparel Unisex California Fleece Pullover Hoodie

Features:

  • California Fleece (100% Cotton) construction (Heather Grey contains 10% Polyester)
  • Hooded with matching finished Polyester drawcord
  • -Raglan sleeves
    -Kangaroo pocket
  • Sizes: XS-2XL

My Review:
These hoodies are decent, but quite thin. They are great for a lightweight garment. The fabric is not the classic thick fleece that you think about when you think of a hoodie. They’re slim fit, not baggy at all. Take note of the different shoulder seams too. Good for printing. Not my favorite hoodie, I would only use them again if looking specifically for a lightweight hoodie. $15-$20 for these.

Gildan Adult DryBlend® 9.0 oz., 50/50 Hoodie

Features:

  • 50% cotton, 50% polyester
  • DryBlend® wicking performance
  • Safety (Green & Orange) are ANSI/ISEA 107 High Visibility Standards compliant
  • fully cover seamed; pill-resistant air jet yarn
  • double-lined hood with matching drawstring
  • heat transfer label; 1x1 spandex ribbed cuffs and waistband
  • double-needle stitched pouch pocket
  • Sizes: S-3XL

My Review:
It’s actually sort of a shame that I am even putting this hoodie in here. I am onyl doing it sine hear so many people asking about them. And rightly so, the price is insane. $9–$12 for these bad boys. Gildan is not a brand I would ever use for a brand that I was building. If you are looking for repeat customers that care about quality, stay away from Gildan. If you are printing hoodies for an event or a one-time thing, these are great. Not my recommendation for brand building though. It’s a solid hoodie, the fit is bulky and the elastic waist tends to be tight. It does not have what most would call a “fashionable fit”. If you are using Gildan products — hoodies, tees, or anything I always recomend 50/50. the 100% cotton stuff will shrink crazily since their cotton is such shit. NEXT…

Badger Heavyweight Hooded Sweatshirt

Features:

  • 12 oz., 60% ringspun cross grain sueded cotton, 40% polyester
  • Softer feel and low pilling
  • Athletic cut
  • Two-ply lined hood with draw cord
  • Badger Sport paneled shoulder for maximum movement
  • Rib side panel insert
  • Spandex reinforced rib-knit cuffs and waistband
  • Pouch front pocket

Sizes: XS-4XL

My Review:
This is hands down the best hoodie I have ever worn / used for my brand. Hands down no competiton so far. It is expensive — $25, but so worth it. This is the definition of a HOODIE. Nice and smooth, nice and thick, great fit, everything is there. I have all good things to say. The downside is there are only made in 3 colors that I know of.

I want to keep adding to this list so shoot me a comment below of what you want to know more about.

Check out more information on this stuff as well →

Ben

--

--