--

Five Loaves of Love and Two Bottles of Kindness

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I woke up today and had a desire to give away something precious, to make someone smile, light a candle in a freezing heart, put a sparkle in sad eyes, endow strength in drooping shoulders, add a spring to waning dance steps.

My purse was empty, my pots were dry, the fridge was bare and the wardrobe was scanty. Outside the windows, I saw the pained faces, the weary hands, the tired feet, the hungry children and the aching hearts.

I pulled myself away from the path of the depression descending with great speed upon me because I desired to be of assistance to others, only to realize that I was not different from them.

I said no to the feeling of helplessness, I rejected the cloud of self doubt, I shouted back at the voices in my head with all the visible force I could muster. I gave up my worries to the wind, my anger to the gods, my hunger I refused to feel, and my depression I sealed in a decorated bottle, and broke it into a thousand pieces.

I opened the door and spied those who needed me, in that moment I realized I was rich. I gave them my smiles, and they smiled back. I gave them my love and the darkness shrouding them disappeared. I gave them my hopes and they stood taller. I laid myself bare and found a little kindness here and there. I was a poor little girl with nothing to offer but five loaves of love and two bottles of kindness. It was more than enough.

--

--

Harrison Chukwudike Ifeanacho
Strength By The Sea Writers Cabana Publication

For the joy of stringing words, the pleasure of exploring ideas, and the sheer bliss of touching lives