--

Listen More

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

I listen because I know what it feels like to be unheard. I stand before them judged and condemned before I have had the least chance to open my mouth.

My story is told and concluded from every point of view but mine. So, I listen because it is easy to treat other people like concepts well understood, without all the intricacies and complexities common to man.

I listen to understand, to connect, to give space for voices that might otherwise be lost in the noise. Each person carries a unique embroidery of experiences, emotions, and thoughts, woven together to form their identity.

By listening, I honor that individuality. I acknowledge the depth beneath the surface, the struggles and triumphs that shape who we are.

When I listen, I break the cycle of assumption and misjudgment. I challenge the simplistic narratives that reduce people to mere stereotypes. I create a space where empathy can thrive, where understanding can blossom.

In listening, I find the common threads that bind us together, the shared humanity that transcends our differences.

Listening requires patience and an open heart. It demands that I set aside my own biases and preconceived notions, to truly hear the person in front of me.

It is an act of humility, recognizing that I do not have all the answers, that my perspective is just one among many.

In listening, I learn and grow, expanding my own understanding of the world and the people within it.

Listening is an act of love and respect. It says, "You matter. Your story matters." It is a gift we can give to one another, a simple yet profound way to build bridges and foster connection.

In a world where so many voices are drowned out, where so much is left unsaid, listening is a powerful tool for change.

So, I will continue to listen, to give others the chance to be heard. I will strive to create spaces where every voice is valued, every story is acknowledged. Because in listening, we find our way to a more compassionate and understanding world.

--

--

Harrison Chukwudike Ifeanacho
Strength By The Sea Writers Cabana Publication

For the joy of stringing words, the pleasure of exploring ideas, and the sheer bliss of touching lives