My Mother, My Mother. Why?

You may tread me in the very dirt
But still, like dust, I’ll rise. Maya Angelou

--

by author. the destination may seem long but trod on. when the morning comes, the sun will rise.

Growing up, my mother’s words echoed constantly with doubt and negativity, telling me I wasn’t good enough and that I wouldn’t amount to anything. I never questioned whether she intended it as motivation or didn’t know better. One thing I knew, she wouldn’t dictate my destiny.

Determined to prove her wrong, I immersed myself in education, seeing it as my ticket out. While others played, I buried myself in books.

Despite my constant daily reminders, I excelled academically, becoming the top student in every grade.

Yet, my achievements went unnoticed. Even as an adult, my mom made it her duty to scold me, saying that I was boastful (because I bought her groceries for the month) and that I would eventually fail.

My visits home are rare.

From these experiences, I learned early on the importance of self-belief and perseverance.

You must realize that to achieve anything, you must first believe in yourself, tuning out the doubts of others. You must become your own champion, knowing that no one else will believe in you unless you do.

Learned to heed the cheers of the crowd without letting them define you. Become your own greatest supporter.

True success begins with self-confidence and determination.

Be encouraged, be inspired!

--

--