--

Success Redefined: The Importance of Trying

Photo by Steven Erixon on Unsplash

There is a thin line between success and failure for me. It’s not just about the goals achieved; it’s about honor. Success is remaining honorable in my own estimation. When I face a challenge, I always find a way to accomplish it. The desire to succeed drives me to give it my best, even if failure is a huge possibility.

The way I see it, there are two forms of success involved: the success I feel because I tried, and the success I may achieve because of my efforts. To fail at the first level is catastrophic. It has the power to destroy a man. One must be master enough of oneself to do what ought to be done, without external impetus. This is how I feel about my life.

Once upon a time, I had the chance to compete for an entrepreneurial grant. I had no grand ideas and wasn’t an entrepreneur. But here was a challenge, and I couldn’t afford to fail to try. Winning the grant was not the issue; my self-esteem was. My mindset was that every opportunity should be exploited. If I do not take the chance, then I consider myself a failure.

I believe that everyone should judge themselves by a law they have given themselves. Mine is that I should succeed in making efforts. Effort is the fuel that keeps me going. I try, and sometimes I fail. But the failure does not hurt too much because I have succeeded in making the effort. For me, the greatest evil is not making an effort at all.

--

--

Harrison Chukwudike Ifeanacho
Strength By The Sea Writers Cabana Publication

For the joy of stringing words, the pleasure of exploring ideas, and the sheer bliss of touching lives